Search Unity

FBX From Wings 3D Issues

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by SerKevin, Apr 15, 2006.

1. SerKevin

SerKevin

First I'm new to Unity so there is a good possibility that there is something I'm doing wrong. There is also a possibility that it could be a Wings (ver 0.98.32a) issue. Second let me say that Unity is simply amazing too, a great product with a great design.

Anyway I've been dealing with the following issues for two days and they are getting worse so I'm asking for help now.

Here's what happened:

1) I have a scene with a few simple models created in Wings and exported as FBX files. A few low poly shapes with UV mapped textures. Just some shapes to play around with and get to know the workflow in Unity.
    2) Everything was working great until I decided to update one of the objects, a simple column shape, and re-export from wings. I modified the UV mapping because there was a bit of tearing in a few areas.
    3) When I switched back to Unity it started to update the asset and promptly died.
    4) After a restart it did successfully update the asset but that's when things started getting weird, the column object showed up with two materials: the first an empty one called column_aux-default and the correct column_aux with the UV mapping.
    5) The materials section for this object is greyed out and I cannot make any modifications to it, also if I add the object to any scene, it isn't effected by the lights in the scene... it's like it isn't even there. It mostly renders as a black void in the shape of the column.

Now the same thing happens with any object that I bring into Unity from Wings. And an other issue is happening, no matter what scale I set the object to in Wings when I export, it comes into Unity SMALL, like .01 meters small.

I've tried starting new projects in both programs but the issue persists and Unity has started crashing about 50% of the time on asset import.