Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice

Fatal Error - Size overflow in allocator

Discussion in 'Project Tiny' started by ikdd88, May 14, 2020.

  1. ikdd88

    ikdd88

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Hi, I can build Tiny3D on preview 0.25, but when I try to do any changes to the scene or even just click on one of the game objects I get Fatal Error Size Overflow in Allocator. I would appreciate some help on how to solve this. Thanks!
    upload_2020-5-14_11-38-39.png
     
  2. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    342
    Hello @cdorik,
    Could you walk us through the steps you took to see this error, and also let us know which version of Unity you are using.

    Thanks!
     
  3. Bladgharm

    Bladgharm

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Hello @Ted_Wikman,
    Have same issue when trying to open ProjectTinySamples - TinyRacing. Using Unity 2019.3.13f1.
    Steps to reproduse: Copy prject from repo -> Open project in unity -> Try to open scene "TinyRacing" (another way try to open/close DOTS Subscene in Hierarchy view) and i got same error as @cdorik.
    Also same errors in other ProjectTinySamples.
    UPD: Same issues on Unity 2019.3.14f1
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2020
  4. surits14

    surits14

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    I get the same error as well. Whenever I hit the Play button I get this fatal error.
     
  5. surits14

    surits14

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    Any luck figuring out a fix for this??
     
  6. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    342
    Hello @Bladgharm and @surits14 ,
    Sorry for a late reply. This is an issue we want to take a look at, but currently have too little information to go on.
    Could you file a bug report and post the bug report id, then we can dig into the project to see if we can get a reproducible example.

    Thanks!
     
  7. webrosfahim

    webrosfahim

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Any Tiny working project or package available. Suggest me best version of tiny project for unity 2019.3.13f1 or 2019.3.3f1
     
  8. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    342
  9. webrosfahim

    webrosfahim

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I tired with this sample project, followed to built \Assets\BuildConfigurations\Windows-DotNet.. Results me built error.. Attaching errors hereafter.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 29, 2020
  10. aveakrause

    aveakrause

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    52
    I received the same error, but not in Tiny, just normal DOTS. Loading my level1 scene would throw it and crash it. No idea how I fixed it, it just kinda started working again. I think it is being caused by one of the dependency packages. 2019.3.14f1 was my Unity version when I saw it. I think I have video footage of it on my Twitch stream... Showed up after I tried to do a build. (I still have not been able to get the build to work. It finishes with a success, but when I launch, it shows the Unity logo then hard crashes with no logs to go off of. Subscenes REALLY make building a PITA. Overall, I HATEEEEEEEE the subscene workflow. I just want Folders to organize)
     
  11. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    342
    @webrosfahim, thank you for the screenshots. Have you downloaded and installed the following requirements?
    • Visual Studio 2019
    • Desktop development with C++
    • .NET desktop development
    • Windows 10 SDK

    @aveakrause, do you have any logs from when your build crashes on startup? That would be very useful for us to take a look at.

    Thanks to both of you for testing Project Tiny out and giving us some good feedback, this helps us create a more solid base.
     
  12. aveakrause

    aveakrause

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    52
    I do not. I'm sorry. It gave me basically no information to go off of, then automagically fixed itself. I reviewed my stream as well, something weird happened where everything went white when I pressed play (after the build failed), then when I exited playmode, it threw the error. When I reopened Unity, it seemed to fix. I received it again later in the day (that was when trying to open the scene rather than on exiting playmode). I'm fairly sure it has something to do with subscenes.
     
  13. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    342
    Thanks @aveakrause. Let us know if you encounter this issue again. We'll keep an eye out for it.
     
    aveakrause likes this.
  14. VReynaert

    VReynaert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    I have the same error by trying to follow this tuto on DOTS


    I tried to use subscenes like in the video but same fatal error.
    So I tried to delete the subscenes and use convertEntities and always fatal error !
    What's strange is that I follow others tutos with 2019.3.5 and use convertEntities without problems
    Here I use unity 2019.3.14f1 with this versions of packages :
    upload_2020-6-13_14-35-3.png
     
  15. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    342
    Hello @VReynaert,
    I am sorry to hear that you are having difficulties getting your Dots project to run. Since there are multiple errors being described in this thread, could you provide the following information:
    - Post the errors in full, with stack trace and all
    - Write down the steps you took to see these errors

    With this information we can more easily figure out what goes wrong.
    Thank you!
     
  16. Superior-of-lastest

    Superior-of-lastest

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Hey,I was test the mistake about size overflow in allocator,first i thought it was caused by the Prefab,but when i change the prefab or delete it,it still happened.The I thought the Project was created in the Universal Pender Pipline,maybe it was caused by the incompatibility of the SRP,so i change the material to the Built-In Render Pipeline with standard defult material,then it run well without error happen.Is that means the DOTS was still incompatibility with SRP??
     
  17. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    342
    Thank you @Superior-of-lastest for digging into this issue.
    So you were using URP material with your renderers. This caused the size overflow in allocator error.
    When do you see this error showing up?

    You changed these materials into using the Standard Default shader from the built-in pipeline, and then the error did not show up anymore.
    Is this correct?

    Project Tiny is compatible with a subset of the Universal Rendering Pipeline's (URP) feature set.
    What shader were you using when you were seeing this error?
     
  18. Superior-of-lastest

    Superior-of-lastest

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I am using the Shader Graph generate the shader to create the Material,could it possible the incompatibility with the Shader Graph and DOTS?
     
  19. aveakrause

    aveakrause

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Posts:
    52
    I use shader graph and DOTS with URP just fine.
     
  20. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    342
    So for hybrid DOTS (using hybrid rendering pipeline), shader graph shaders should work.
    For Project Tiny, only the following shaders are supported:

    3D:
    • Universal Render Pipeline/Unlit
    • Universal Render Pipeline/Lit
    • Universal Render Pipeline/Particles/Unlit
    • Universal Render Pipeline/Particles/Lit
    And for 2D:
    • Sprites/Default
    • Universal Render Pipeline/2D/Sprite-Lit-Default
    I noticed that this is not mentioned in our google doc, so this should be added there as well.

    The list of supported shaders will be improved in future versions of Project Tiny
     
  21. kaushaldave

    kaushaldave

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    I have gone through the same error in 2020.1.1f.

    I tried removing the "Temp" and "Library" folders in the project. After removing these folders I run the project and it creates new Temp and Library folders.

    And it works...Initially, I thought that it will affect my work but it's working properly now.
     
    StellarVeil likes this.
  22. StellarVeil

    StellarVeil

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    For me it was a corrupt/obsolete asset I imported, deleting it directly through Windows (not inside Unity as it doesn't open) solved the problem.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2021
unityunity