Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Failed to insert item messages in build log

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by diekeure, Nov 17, 2015.

  1. diekeure

    diekeure

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    221
    Hello,

    When we perform a headless build of our game, we get lots of messages in the build log that look like this

    Failed to insert item. Name: Sheep Mover, Command: SCRIPT3712
    (Filename: C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Platform/Windows/MenuControllerWin.cpp Line: 526)

    SheepMover being a class in our game. We have this for many other scripts but not all. The build succeeds regardless.

    Is this a problem? What causes this? Can I get rid of it?

    Thanks!
    Alex
     
  2. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Pardon for the old thread resurrection, but we have this problem as well, and it only seems to have gotten worse with Unity 5.4. Are others still seeing this, or know of any solutions?
     
  3. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Bump... using latest 5.4.2p3 and still have 100mb build logs that are mostly garbage like this... in fact, during our particular build process, we have 64,780 instances of "Failed to insert item".

    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2] Failed to insert item. Name: Party Member UI, Command: SCRIPT9222
    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2]
    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2] (Filename: C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Platform/Windows/MenuControllerWin.cpp Line: 518)
    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2]
    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2] Failed to insert item. Name: Party Options Context Menu Button, Command: SCRIPT9954
    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2]
    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2] (Filename: C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Platform/Windows/MenuControllerWin.cpp Line: 518)
    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2]
    [10:12:31]: [Step 1/2] Failed to insert item. Name: Party UI, Command: SCRIPT3338


    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] Failed to insert item. Name: Login UI, Command: SCRIPT4936
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] UnityEditor.BuildPipeline:BuildAssetBundleInternal(Object, Object[], String[], String, BuildAssetBundleOptions, BuildTarget, UInt32&)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] UnityEditor.BuildPipeline:BuildAssetBundle(Object, Object[], String, UInt32&, BuildAssetBundleOptions, BuildTarget) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\artifacts\generated\common\editor\BuildPipelineBindings.gen.cs:306)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] UnityEditor.BuildPipeline:BuildAssetBundle(Object, Object[], String, BuildAssetBundleOptions, BuildTarget) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\artifacts\generated\common\editor\BuildPipelineBindings.gen.cs:282)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] PortBuildMenu:BuildConversationBundlesInternal(Boolean) (at Assets\Editor\PortBuildMenu.cs:9290)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] PortBuildMenu:BatchPostProcessBuild(BuildTarget, Boolean) (at Assets\Editor\PortBuildMenu.cs:8099)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] PortBuildMenu:BatchPostProcessBuildForPC() (at Assets\Editor\PortBuildMenu.cs:480)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2]
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] [C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Platform/Windows/MenuControllerWin.cpp line 518]
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] (Filename: Assets/Editor/PortBuildMenu.cs Line: 9290)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2]
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] Failed to insert item. Name: Logout Timer UI, Command: SCRIPT6604
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] UnityEditor.BuildPipeline:BuildAssetBundleInternal(Object, Object[], String[], String, BuildAssetBundleOptions, BuildTarget, UInt32&)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] UnityEditor.BuildPipeline:BuildAssetBundle(Object, Object[], String, UInt32&, BuildAssetBundleOptions, BuildTarget) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\artifacts\generated\common\editor\BuildPipelineBindings.gen.cs:306)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] UnityEditor.BuildPipeline:BuildAssetBundle(Object, Object[], String, BuildAssetBundleOptions, BuildTarget) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\artifacts\generated\common\editor\BuildPipelineBindings.gen.cs:282)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] PortBuildMenu:BuildConversationBundlesInternal(Boolean) (at Assets\Editor\PortBuildMenu.cs:9290)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] PortBuildMenu:BatchPostProcessBuild(BuildTarget, Boolean) (at Assets\Editor\PortBuildMenu.cs:8099)
    [11:14:26]: [Step 1/2] PortBuildMenu:BatchPostProcessBuildForPC() (at Assets\Editor\PortBuildMenu.cs:480)
     
    diekeure likes this.
  4. NachoAbril

    NachoAbril

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Hi,

    We have the same issue here with 5.6.1p1. A lot of:

    Failed to insert item. Name: xxxx, Command: SCRIPTnnnn

    when doing a build using batchmode command line parameter.

    Any ideas how to fix it?
     
  5. jehovah0121qq

    jehovah0121qq

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Posts:
    68
    5.5.2f1

    When building assetbundles, there are similar error messages like:

    Failed to insert item. Name: Look Dev, Command: 39
    UnityEditor.BuildPipeline:BuildAssetBundles(String, AssetBundleBuild[], BuildAssetBundleOptions, BuildTarget)
    ......
     
  6. lovexbma

    lovexbma

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    same issue with 2017.1.2p3.
    and make unity run slowly.
     
  7. radiantboy

    radiantboy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    1,633
    i have the same with unity 2018, anyone ever work this out ?
     
  8. Vitens

    Vitens

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    the same in Unity 2017.4.3f1 :(
     
  9. androshchuk-vladyslav

    androshchuk-vladyslav

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Posts:
    127
    Any fix of this for 2017.3? Unity help!
     
  10. jCampbell86

    jCampbell86

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I am porting a project from an old version of unity to a newer one and I am running into the same issue in both 4.6.9 and 5.3.1. Has the been any progress addressing this issue?
     
  11. jCampbell86

    jCampbell86

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Update: Also running into this Error in 2018.1.6f1
     
  12. skyThron

    skyThron

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    how to fix?
     
  13. fuy

    fuy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    I got this too in Unity2017.4.30:
    Assertion failed: Failed to insert item. Name: XXX Command: SCRIPT
     
  14. PW_Dave

    PW_Dave

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    We just upgraded from Unity 2018.2.15f1 to Unity 2018.4.2f1 and we're getting thousands of these messages during a bundle build and the log file is over 400MB. There are so many messages, there's no way that I can think of to figure out the pattern of objects that are having this problem. It's also taking extremely long to build. I've seen other threads online which seem to indicate that this is an innocuous message, and that seems to be the case for us as well, since the builds are working.
    Can somebody from Unity at least let us know what causes this error message so that we can figure out what is going on?
     
  15. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,143
    Did anybody file a bug report?
     
  16. androshchuk-vladyslav

    androshchuk-vladyslav

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Posts:
    127
    This is really old one. Occurs on Windows in project with a lot of .cs files (I think ~ 5000 or more). I tried to make some research several months ago but failed. Issue is around adding menu items in "Add Component" list.

    To push this bug we need to push whole huge project. I think you can reproduce it by generating couple of thousand files with random names and empty monobehaviors inside.
     
  17. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,143
    I can see the reason its failing is because of InsertMenuItemW
    I have asked the team to improve the error message.
    Are you using no graphics when you run the build?
     
  18. androshchuk-vladyslav

    androshchuk-vladyslav

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Posts:
    127
    On build machine, as I remember (in without GUI mode) we haven't any errors. Only when scripts are recompiled after changes on Windows PC.

    P.S. Yes, your suggestion about InsertMenuItemW is very logical. It occurs when add a lot of components in top menu bar.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2019
  19. vincent_hhc

    vincent_hhc

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I also get this error after I update my Win10.
     
    fuy likes this.
  20. fuy

    fuy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2019
  21. fuy

    fuy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    the bug is fixed in unity2019.1.7f1, 2019.2.1
    i think you forget merge the patch to unity 2017
     
  22. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,143
    The is is in 2017.4.19f1
     
  23. fuy

    fuy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    I just tested it In Unity 2017.4.19, the bug is not fixed!
    with below code, you will reproduct it:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEditor;
    5. using System.IO;
    6.  
    7. public class ReproduceBug
    8. {
    9.  
    10.     [MenuItem("BUG/ProductBug")]
    11.     static void Test()
    12.     {
    13.         for (int i = 0; i < 1200; i++)
    14.         {
    15.             string str = "using UnityEngine; public class XXX" + i.ToString() + ": MonoBehaviour{}";
    16.  
    17.             File.WriteAllText(Application.dataPath + "/XXX" + i.ToString() + ".cs", str);
    18.         }
    19.  
    20.         AssetDatabase.Refresh();
    21.     }
    22. }
    23.  
     
  24. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,143
    Could you please file a bug report
     
  25. fuy

    fuy

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    hi, i have filed a bug report:
    (Case 1181898) Assertion failed: Failed to insert item. Name: XXX973, Command: SCRIPT3218
     
  26. c0nd3v

    c0nd3v

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Posts:
    30
    This is actually fixed in 2017.4.34f1, you can find it here: https://unity3d.com/unity/whats-new/2017.4.34

    "Scripting: Fixed Produce a warning and prevent warnings spamming when trying to insert menu item when the insertion limit is reached. (1181898, 1187861)"
     
  27. c0nd3v

    c0nd3v

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Posts:
    30
    Actually, oddly enough, I'm getting this same issue in 2020.3 when using Addressables package.
     
    PixelFireXY likes this.
  28. MiFrilke

    MiFrilke

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2021
    PixelFireXY and karl_jones like this.
  29. Pivac_

    Pivac_

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,
    So me and my friend are trying to make a game together (share and edit the same project at the same time).
    Everything that we did went smoothly but when my friend publishes a project in our organisation and I download and open it, it only transfers scripts, no elements or items. An error message appears which says: "Failed to insert item. Invalid menu handle."
    Please, if someone knows how to fix this problem let me know and contact me on my e-mail pivachd@gmail.com
    Thank you and good bye!
    Niko Pivac
     
  30. TA_Jason

    TA_Jason

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    upload_2021-11-8_14-3-39.png
    2019.4
     
    weizgit likes this.
  31. weizgit

    weizgit

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    Seeing more of this on a freshly installed Unity Hub + Unity 2021.3.8f1 LTS after it first popping up. Temporary Unity download folder deleted and all Unity-related folders removed from /AppData prior to the reinstall.

    I'm getting all the fun stuff, from 'failed to add separator' to 'Failed to insert item. Invalid menu handle.'

    I also have that cool bug where where almost every running application window pops up; from GHub and iCue to Discord and Settings, as well as applications that don't really have UIs and so only some title bars appear. I have to relog the OS user account to clear it all out or I would be tediously closing stuff from the Task Manager for like 15 minutes.

    Generally when this happens, the Editor becomes completely useless and stops reacting to any input events; No drop down menus, tabbed windows don't switch when clicked on, etc., so I just alt-F4 is as even the Close/X button doesn't respond. I tried this is the current 2022.2.0b6 Beta as well, and was running into the same issues... which was very odd.

    Keep in mind, all of this happened with a new blank 3D project.

    I will post if I find some sort of solution unless it just starts working again for whatever reason.
     
  32. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,143
    That's strange. Have you filled any bug reports? Do you have a log file from when this happened?
     
  33. weizgit

    weizgit

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    I have yet to do as I want to make sure I'm not doing anything stupid on my end for some reason ;) But I'm getting closer to doing so.

    I seem to be seeing something reported in another thread as well, my post with an excerpt of the Editor.log shown. I kept seeing this after Revo uninstalling then reinstalling Unity as well; Registry and AppData wiped prior to install.

    I have not specifically set any additional logging outside of default, but if a default log has it, I should be able to get one from one of these two issues pretty easily. Sorry, never submitted one on here before manually, just once on a crash, which isn't happening with these 2 issues I'm having.

    Let me know about the logs, or link me on what to do if anything, and I'll get you anything needed :)

    Going to give Alpha a shot in the meantime. If I still have issues I have to assume it's something local going on; Then on to figure that out.
     
  34. FoxGames772

    FoxGames772

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    trying to make a VR game and finding the same error. i am using the unity version 2022.1.15ft.
    closing and reopening works but it comes back up again. does anybody know how to fix?
     
    weizgit likes this.
  35. weizgit

    weizgit

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    I'm just curious; Are you trying this with an existing project only?
    Have you tried with something like a new blank 3D project?

    I'm working on VR/XR myself, but before any of that is involved, before any package imported, these issues pop up from simply going around menus and preferences, change tabs, etc. I'm getting this issue from completely new projects before anything is even 'done' to the project.
    I'm wondering if that's the same case for you, or if it seems project specific.
     
  36. weizgit

    weizgit

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    I installed 2023.1.0a6.754, created a new 3D project in my user folder, opened the package manager, selected Engineering, Clicked the 'Remove' button, and received the error:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Error displaying dialog: The current process has used all of its system allowance of handles for Window Manager objects.
    2.  
    3. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent (int,intptr,bool&)
    After this point, the menus showed a highlight on mouse over, but there was no dropdown menu when clicked (File, Edit, etc.).

    I then clicked the Package Manager Tab and dragged it down and to the left, which then gave me this in the console:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. UnityException: Win32 could not create GUI view becasue CreateWindowEx failed with message: The operation completed successfully.
    2.  
    3. UnityEditor.GUIView.SetWindow (UnityEditor.ContainerWindow win) (at <1e70ef17bec74538be72c6474de528c4>:0)
    4. UnityEditor.View.SetWindowRecurse (UnityEditor.ContainerWindow win) (at <1e70ef17bec74538be72c6474de528c4>:0)
    5. UnityEditor.ContainerWindow.set_rootView (UnityEditor.View value) (at <1e70ef17bec74538be72c6474de528c4>:0)
    6. UnityEditor.PaneDragTab.Show (UnityEngine.Rect pixelPos, UnityEngine.GUIContent content, UnityEngine.Vector2 viewSize, UnityEngine.Vector2 mouseScreenPosition) (at <1e70ef17bec74538be72c6474de528c4>:0)
    7. UnityEditor.DockArea.DragTab (UnityEngine.Rect tabAreaRect, System.Single scrollOffset, UnityEngine.GUIStyle tabStyle, UnityEngine.GUIStyle firstTabStyle) (at <1e70ef17bec74538be72c6474de528c4>:0)
    8. UnityEditor.DockArea.DrawTabs (UnityEngine.Rect tabAreaRect) (at <1e70ef17bec74538be72c6474de528c4>:0)
    9. UnityEditor.DockArea.OldOnGUI () (at <1e70ef17bec74538be72c6474de528c4>:0)
    10. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.DoOnGUI (UnityEngine.Event evt, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 parentTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Boolean isComputingLayout, UnityEngine.Rect layoutSize, System.Action onGUIHandler, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    11. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.HandleIMGUIEvent (UnityEngine.Event e, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 worldTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Action onGUIHandler, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    12. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.HandleIMGUIEvent (UnityEngine.Event e, System.Action onGUIHandler, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    13. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.HandleIMGUIEvent (UnityEngine.Event e, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    14. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.SendEventToIMGUIRaw (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, System.Boolean canAffectFocus, System.Boolean verifyBounds) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    15. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.SendEventToIMGUI (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, System.Boolean canAffectFocus, System.Boolean verifyBounds) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    16. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.ProcessEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    17. UnityEngine.UIElements.CallbackEventHandler.HandleEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    18. UnityEngine.UIElements.CallbackEventHandler.HandleEventAtCurrentTargetAndPhase (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    19. UnityEngine.UIElements.CallbackEventHandler.HandleEventAtTargetPhase (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    20. UnityEngine.UIElements.MouseCaptureDispatchingStrategy.DispatchEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    21. UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.ApplyDispatchingStrategies (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel, System.Boolean imguiEventIsInitiallyUsed) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    22. UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.ProcessEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    23. UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.ProcessEventQueue () (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    24. UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.OpenGate () (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    25. UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcherGate.Dispose () (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    26. UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.ProcessEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    27. UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.Dispatch (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel, UnityEngine.UIElements.DispatchMode dispatchMode) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    28. UnityEngine.UIElements.BaseVisualElementPanel.SendEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase e, UnityEngine.UIElements.DispatchMode dispatchMode) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    29. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIElementsUtility.DoDispatch (UnityEngine.UIElements.BaseVisualElementPanel panel) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    30. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIElementsUtility.UnityEngine.UIElements.IUIElementsUtility.ProcessEvent (System.Int32 instanceID, System.IntPtr nativeEventPtr, System.Boolean& eventHandled) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    31. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIEventRegistration.ProcessEvent (System.Int32 instanceID, System.IntPtr nativeEventPtr) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    32. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIEventRegistration+<>c.<.cctor>b__1_2 (System.Int32 i, System.IntPtr ptr) (at <e0e2776ee0dc49a2b4913c60438f7b39>:0)
    33. UnityEngine.GUIUtility.ProcessEvent (System.Int32 instanceID, System.IntPtr nativeEventPtr, System.Boolean& result) (at <ec2c82f195a443ac96f36c6a81d3dd8b>:0)
    34.  
    along with,

    Code (CSharp):
    1. !m_View
    2. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent (int,intptr,bool&)
    which seemed to alternate one to the other, over and over, about 79 times combined.

    Any ideas, anyone?
     
  37. ahmedzzz456

    ahmedzzz456

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    same error in version 2021.3.6f1 LTS
     
  38. RyanTheTechMan

    RyanTheTechMan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    The error occurs on any version I use even if it's a new project. I can click around a little big and it either won't let me click anything and shows errors, or the UI just breaks and I close unity, where it should show Save or Don't save buttons, only to show nothing and unity completely freezes.
     
  39. RyanTheTechMan

    RyanTheTechMan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    Posts:
    4
  40. weizgit

    weizgit

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    Looks like exactly what I'm seeing, and happening on any version as well, at least back to 2019s.

    After some of the errors mentioning using up all available objects, I turned on the User Objects column from Details in Task Manager...

    Here the new, blank 3D project is prior to clicking or interacting with the editor at all:


    After some clicking around in the package manager, but not installing or removing anything, when the 'failed to insert' stuff starts, this is what it looks like:


    Yea... that's no good. And again, this is a new, unmodified 3D project on 2021.3.9f1, but I get the same basic things on ALL versions that are currently on the hub from 2019+.
     
  41. Bireswar

    Bireswar

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Hey there,
    I am having the same problem with unity editor 2023 alpha build and any other build is having the same problem.


    these are same issue I am facing and it's terrible even when I try to close from task manager it shows invalid operation. I have files a bug report with the log files and packages used.
     
  42. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,143
    Do you know the bug number?
     
  43. Marnelle

    Marnelle

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Same bunch of errors have started to happen lately

     
  44. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Hi, we have noticed that this issue is happening exclusively on Windows 11 insider version. We're still in middle of investigating it, but for now the workaround is to downgrade to a non-insider version of Windows.
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  45. weizgit

    weizgit

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    FYI: Reinstalled Windows 11 Insiders, same version I was using, after downloading the ISO
    No problems so far using the same Unity and Windows version I was using before... so I have no idea what was going on; but it still would be nice to know in case it happens again, as it seems to have been happening on and off for some time.

    I also want to mention that the first time I 'reset' Windows and kept all my files, and also copied over my Unity folders from /AppData, which resulted in continued errors. This second time, the reinstall from an ISO, I kept files, but did not move over the Unity folder from AppData... so maybe there is something to that, or maybe just the difference between a reset and reinstall, but I wanted to make a note of it.

    Not a 'solution', but just another workaround, albeit somewhat time consuming for those with a lot to setup.

    To confirm again; I'm using the exact same Windows 11 version and same Unity version now, but without any issues popping up after a few hours of use.

    This is the part I don't get; But I appreciate Unity looking into it as it has seemed to have popped up over time for a number of people, and I'd hate to have to reinstall in order to resolve it when something like a download of some dependencies or a registry edit would fix it :)

    Thanks for the update, Tautvydas-Zilys!
     
  46. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    We believe this has been fixed by Windows 11 Insider build 25201. If anyone is still facing this issue, can you upgrade to that version and report back whether it fixes it for you?
     
  47. unity_3S8HrJaJ_Jbr3Q

    unity_3S8HrJaJ_Jbr3Q

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I'm facing this issue on Windows 10 in Unity 2020.3.30f1
     
  48. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Can you post your editor log?
     
  49. Lin_User

    Lin_User

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I'm facing "failed to insert item" on Window10 in Unity 2021.3.11f1
    When happen the issue, it seems to run process failed(myproject used luajit.exe to encode luafiles) ,process error code is -1073741502(STATUS_DLL_INIT_FAILED)。
    I have try to decrease cpu core from 12 to 8, and decrease the Window10 version from 21H2 to 21H1
    the moment of modification was successful, but soon the issue happened again。

    fail log has upload!
     

    Attached Files:

    • log.txt
      File size:
      2 MB
      Views:
      166
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2022
  50. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Is that on a virtual machine run within a CI environment?