Search Unity

Bug Failed to get number of drivers

Discussion in 'Linux' started by The-Little-Guy, Dec 31, 2015.

  1. The-Little-Guy

    The-Little-Guy

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    297
    When I start up Unity I get this error in the console:

     
  2. LukaKotar

    LukaKotar

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Posts:
    394
    Do you have PulseAudio installed and enabled? Sound doesn't seem to work without it.

    Edit: Check if PulseAudio is running with pulseaudio --status
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2016
  3. The-Little-Guy

    The-Little-Guy

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    297
    I get this message:

    pulseaudio: unrecognized option '--status'
     
  4. kborch

    kborch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    @The Little Guy ..

    To check if pulseaudio is running you can do either

    ps -e | grep pulseaudio , and see if it finds the daemon process , or you can do

    pulseaudio --check; echo $?

    echo $? shows you the exit status of the previous command, and pulseaudio --check will exit 0 if pa is running for the current user, according to the manpage. In other words if you get a 0 on the console you know pulseaudio is running.
     
  5. The-Little-Guy

    The-Little-Guy

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    297
    @kborch

    I get an exit code of "1" I tried starting it, but it didn't start
     
  6. kborch

    kborch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    @The Little Guy

    Ok, do you get some errors on the console then?

    Did you try like this: pulseaudio

    Or like this: pulseaudio --start

    Or both?

    Did it complete by itself or hang when you tried?
     
  7. The-Little-Guy

    The-Little-Guy

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    297
    actually I did it like this:

    sudo service pulseaudio start

    doing this worked though:

    pulseaudio

    pulseaudio --start

    Started the service
     
  8. The-Little-Guy

    The-Little-Guy

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    297
    After restarting Unity, my driver issue is gone!

    I get this message though (which I was getting before):

     
  9. kborch

    kborch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Congrats! :)

    Perhaps mark this as solved then.

    kLargestEditorClassID == ms_MaxClassID

    ^^ I get this error as well but only once on startup, as far as I can tell
     
  10. Alloc

    Alloc

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    241
    Unfortunately this is also happening in the Linux standalone builds. Especially problematic when running a headless build on a dedicated server which obviously won't run any audio stuff.
    At startup:
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. NullGfxDevice:
    3.     Version:  NULL 1.0 [1.0]
    4.     Renderer: Null Device
    5.     Vendor:   Unity Technologies
    6. FMOD failed to get number of drivers ... An error occured that wasn't supposed to.  Contact support.
    After assemblies have been loaded:
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. Platform assembly: /home/sdtd/engine/7DaysToDieServer_Data/Managed/Boo.Lang.dll (this message is harmless)
    3. Error: Cannot create FMOD::Sound instance for resource sharedassets0.resource, (An invalid object handle was used. )
    4.  
    5. (Filename:  Line: 858)
    6.  
    7. Function SoundHandle::Instance::~Instance() may only be called from main thread!
    8.  
    9. (Filename:  Line: 25)
    10.  
    11. Unable to enable tracing: Invalid argument
    12.  
    13. (Filename:  Line: 1323)
    14.  
    15. Error: Cannot create FMOD::Sound instance for resource sharedassets0.resource, (An invalid object handle was used. )
    16.  
    17. (Filename:  Line: 858)
    18.  
    19. Function SoundHandle::Instance::~Instance() may only be called from main thread!
    20.  
    21. (Filename:  Line: 25)
    22.  
    23. Unable to enable tracing: Invalid argument
    24.  
    25. (Filename:  Line: 1323)
    26.  
    27. Error: Cannot create FMOD::Sound instance for resource sharedassets0.resource, (An invalid object handle was used. )
    28.  
    29. (Filename:  Line: 858)
    30.  
    31. Function SoundHandle::Instance::~Instance() may only be called from main thread!
    32.  
    (And so on)

    Also sometimes later on:
    Code (csharp):
    1. Error: Cannot create FMOD::Sound instance for resource resources.resource, (An invalid object handle was used. )

    Does not seem to affect the server so far but also didn't do any stress tests as this is currently an internal only build. Same as with shaders and stuff: Why does the headless build have to even initialize this stuff?


    Regards,
    Chris
     
  11. Tak

    Tak

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,001
    This is occurring in certain builds when PulseAudio is available but not running (a fix will be available in an upcoming build).
    As a workaround, you can enable (or remove) PulseAudio.
     
  12. Alloc

    Alloc

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    241
    Thanks :)
    On my machine it's only libpulseaudio that's installed, but I suppose that's what you mean by "available" ;)
     
  13. Tak

    Tak

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,001
    In older versions, it tries to run pulseaudio --check - in newer versions (before the fix), it mistakenly just checks for libpulse-simple.so.0
     
  14. Alloc

    Alloc

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    241
    Yeah, it's a 5.3.3p2 build, so that explains why it's doing that :)
     
  15. Qbit86

    Qbit86

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    487
    I have similar issue on Android, when building with “split obb” option. In runtime application freezes instead of starting OBB download:
    Code (csharp):
    1. E/Unity(8332): Error: Cannot create FMOD::Sound instance for resource sharedassets0.resource, (File not found. )
    2. E/Unity(8332):
    3. E/Unity(8332): (Filename:  Line: 858)
    4. E/Unity(8332): Function SoundHandle::Instance::~Instance() may only be called from main thread!
    5. E/Unity(8332):
    6. E/Unity(8332): (Filename:  Line: 25)
    7. E/mono(8332): Unhandled Exception: System.ExecutionEngineException: SIGILL
     
  16. venetasoft

    venetasoft

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    I solved installing pulseaudio:

    sudo apt-get install pulseaudio