Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Faces of my mesh is black when using probuilder

Discussion in 'World Building' started by KyleL144, Sep 24, 2019.

  1. KyleL144

    KyleL144

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Posts:
    21
    Hey,

    Unity ver: 2019.2.6f1
    ProBuilder: 4.0.5

    I just activated probuilder and when i add a new shape then a couple of the face are black.

    black.png

    I have tried disabling light mapping, but nothing seems to work.


    any help appreciated and thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2019
  2. KyleL144

    KyleL144

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Posts:
    21
    Any one
     
  3. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    174
    Is there a light source that would affect those faces?
     
  4. KyleL144

    KyleL144

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Posts:
    21
    Sorry for the late reply, but no there is not a light source. :/
     
  5. KyleL144

    KyleL144

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Posts:
    21
    Also I have just checked that I removed the scene light and it turned the whole cube black
     
  6. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    174
    I'd guess that the faces are black because there is no light source. Try adding some lights to your scene.
     
  7. KyleL144

    KyleL144

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Posts:
    21
    I have got a light on my scene, but there is no change.

    Untitled.png
     
  8. antoinebr_unity

    antoinebr_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    If you go into Window/Rendering/Lighting Settings, it will open the lighting window. At the bottom of this window, you should see a button called Generate Lighting. Clicking this should fix your issue. The faces will stay dark grey in this case because it's in the shadow of your Directional Light but won't be completely black. You can also toggle Auto Generate if you want your lighting to be auto generated when a change is made.

    If this doesn't fix your issue, I'd need to see a screenshot of your lighting window to get an idea of what might be causing the issue.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  9. ron-bohn

    ron-bohn

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Posts:
    95
    Exactly.