Search Unity

Facebook SDK: Failed to re-package resources.

Discussion in 'Android' started by Matthewek, Apr 8, 2018.

  1. Matthewek

    Matthewek

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    49
    Hello, I am trying to implement Facebook sdk into my unity project, however every time I try to build for android, I get following error:

    CommandInvokationFailure: Failed to re-package resources.


    After viewing not truncated error log, I found this:

    So I guess the main reason would be this part:

    I am using Unity 2017.3, latest facebook unity sdk, plus admob ads

    However I can not understand it, since I have set App id in facebook sdk settings within unity.

    Any help would be appreciated, thanks
     
  2. JuliusM

    JuliusM

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    836
    Have you tried to build using the gradle build system? Internal build system does not support dynamic references in the manifest.
     
  3. Generator_Universe

    Generator_Universe

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I also facing this problem with latest facebook sdk. Do you have solution.? I trtied that JuliusM says. But it's eating my too much time.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2018
  4. MaRTiDoRe

    MaRTiDoRe

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    removed old Facebook SDK and updated to latest one (facebook-unity-sdk-7.12.1)

    Got the freaking CommandInvokationFailure: Failed to re-package resources error.

    N-E-V-E-R update any plugin unless you really have to. This is a developer 101 advice and after 5 years I'm still falling at it. If it works, it works, don't touch it.

    Also, this Android build thing is just a mess. Duplicated DLL's, duplicated references, plugins overwriting the Manifest making it a mess etc.

    For someone unexperienced in Android it's just a headache.

    Well, enought ranting. I used the new gradle build system and it works. Why? Only god knows... no time for that.
     
  5. jkampitakis

    jkampitakis

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Posts:
    56
    I have spent 2 days in office trying to make that thing work...
    Only using the gradle build you have a chance...

    The Android build is a NIGHTMARE!
     
  6. asder31

    asder31

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I have this problem too .. but there is no solution anywhere :(

    can anyone share the solution if they know it?
     
  7. jkampitakis

    jkampitakis

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Posts:
    56
  8. asder31

    asder31

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Unfortunately I could not solve the problem :( Thank you for your interest..
     
  9. Prabhjot2017

    Prabhjot2017

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    and thats how one should reply
    perfect