Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Face Capture Export

Discussion in 'Virtual Production' started by MonkeyKasai, Sep 25, 2021.

  1. MonkeyKasai

    MonkeyKasai

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Hi there,

    I was wondering if there was any way to export the recording data and import into maya?
    Or is there any way of cleaning up the data in Unity?
     
  2. akent99

    akent99

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Posts:
    588
    I do simple editing using the Animation window - REALLY simple editing. But there is a "FBX Exporter" in Unity... could you perhaps export as an FBX file (with animation clips) and load that into Maya? I have never tried it - I don't use FBX or Maya!
     
  3. MonkeyKasai

    MonkeyKasai

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    I had a quick look at exporting out with the FBX exporter, but the animations don't get exported with face capture since its animating through ARKIT Face Actor script rather than directly through the blend shapes.
     
  4. akent99

    akent99

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Posts:
    588
    I think I recall a thread suggesting Unity might create a script to convert the face actor stuff to an animation clip or similar. I did not pay much attention at the time to be honest, but nicer Maya etc integration might interest them!
     
  5. GeniusKoala

    GeniusKoala

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Posts:
    97
    You could write the blendshapes keys and values into a text file and parse it in Maya to build the values to the correct keys of your 3D model.