Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Extreme contrast and many errors in the default project

Discussion in '2019.1 Beta' started by dadude123, Feb 2, 2019.

  1. dadude123

    dadude123

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    736
    - Windows 7 x64 (32GB RAM, 970GTX)
    - Unity 2019.1.0b1; Installed through the unity hub.

    In the hub I pressed "new", and selected those settings:
    https://i.imgur.com/1JjN2DJ.png

    Unity opened, and after quite some loading time the very first thing it displays is this:
    https://i.imgur.com/Au0LZm0.png

    What I tried to fix it:
    - restarted computer
    - disabled and reenabled post processing, baked lighting (seems to work, but has absolutely no visible effect) (this was the output: https://i.imgur.com/ldSzPh2.png )
    - created a custom project and imported the hdrp manually

    HDRP version seems to be the latest available: https://i.imgur.com/U3gKHOT.png

    I remember that I tried some very early alpha versions and those worked.
    While in this beta I'm stuck in the demo scene already.

    Am I doing something wrong? Anything obvious that I might have missed?
     
    GilbertoBitt likes this.
  2. GilbertoBitt

    GilbertoBitt

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    exactly my problem right now too! just on bet 2019.1.0b1 is happening.
     
  3. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    Two things here:

    1) 2019.1.0b1 works best with HDRP version 5.3.1 but it's not automatically showing on Package Manager yet. 5.2.3 will throw some errors on things.

    2) that initial view when you open the editor has been like that on 2019.1 always (at least as far as I remember), you need to go once in play mode for it to show up the scene like it should display.
     
    GilbertoBitt likes this.
  4. GilbertoBitt

    GilbertoBitt

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    hope soon HDRP 5.3.1 show up on package Manager.
     
  5. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    You can manually edit your manifest if you want to try it already, just replace HDRP's 5.2.3-preview with 5.3.1-preview (also for the visual effect graph if you've installed it) and swap 5.2.3 to 5.3.1 for core, shader graph if you have them listed separately there.
     
    GilbertoBitt likes this.
  6. GilbertoBitt

    GilbertoBitt

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    ty,I thought was 5.3.1 without the preview extension similar to tag on github!
     
  7. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    it's in preview for HDRP and Visual Effect Graph for packages, and without for core, lwrp and shader graph as those are getting out of preview officially for 2019.1.
     
  8. Carpe-Denius

    Carpe-Denius

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    790
    You can change your renderpipelineasset, enable or disable something like ssr and revert it. Shaders will refresh and everything looks normal again.
     
    GilbertoBitt likes this.
  9. dadude123

    dadude123

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    736
    Entering play mode does not help.
    I still get tons of different errors.
    Even having the camera selected spams an error every frame.

    I will try the 5.3.1 (or whatever is the latest at the time) tomorrow.
     
  10. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    This is why I wrote this:
    :)
     
  11. petersx

    petersx

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Posts:
    202

    Windows 10 PRO

    Unity 2019.1.0b2

    New project with HDRP - not working - flood of errors.
    I give up. Nothing is working now. With 5.3.1 postprocessing stack is not working. No errors and no pp efects.
     
  12. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    This is because HDRP 5.3.1 doesn't support the old Post Processing stack v2 at all. Don't even install PPv2 from package manger if you use HDRP 5.3+ as it will do nothing there. HDRP 5.3+ has now all post processing (v3) included in HDRP package itself and you can find these in the scene volume settings (so no need for separate post processing volume anymore).
     
  13. petersx

    petersx

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Posts:
    202
    Ok, but in a new standard install of 2019.1.0b2 and create a new project - fails with flood of errors - then what to do ?
     
  14. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    PP 2.1.3 fixes the TAA error but you are likely to get other issues on HDPR 5.2.3. It's not the recommended version to use with latest 2019.1 versions.

    If you need HDRP on latest 2019.1, use 5.3.1 with it's own PPv3. If you want to keep using HDRP on 2019.1, PPv3 is what you'll be getting with it when 2019.1 is officially out, they will not support PPv2 for it.
     
    LeonhardP and hippocoder like this.