Search Unity

Export Project to Zip - Unity Editor Free Tool

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Jonathan-Tremblay, Mar 11, 2023.

1. Jonathan-Tremblay

Jonathan-Tremblay

Hey there, Unity developers! I want to share with you a free and open-source tool that I created: Export Project to Zip. It's a lightweight tool that simplifies the process of zipping Unity projects for backup or transfer purposes.

PromoInterfaceCapture_FORUM_800x394.png

As a teacher, I have to manage many Unity projects. It can be painful! I have also noticed that the huge size of the Library folder in a Unity project can be difficult for my students to manage. Although the Library folder is not an essential part of a project (because it can be recreated by Unity), it is not intuitive to exclude this folder when creating a zip archive. That's why I created Export Project to Zip: it manages to compress the project but excludes the library, directly from the Unity file menu (no need to leave Unity!)

It is compatible with Unity 2021.3.16+ (both on Mac and PC).

I hope this tool will help you improve your workflow.

Unity Store link: https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/utilities/export-project-to-zip-243983

Github link: https://github.com/JonathanTremblay/UnityExportToZip

By the way, suggestions are welcome! :)

steril, mgear and CodeSmile like this.
  2. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

There are more folders you should exclude, are you aware of those? The .gitignore template will give you pointers. Most importantly don‘t include the Temp folder and „Build(s)“ which are often saved to the project folder itself. Also Logs and Obj from the top of my head, and any folder that starts with a dot (like .git which can be huge as well).

3. Jonathan-Tremblay

Jonathan-Tremblay

Hi @CodeSmile ,
    Thank you for your comment!
    You are right about the Obj folder, I forgot this one. I will exclude it in my next version.