Search Unity

Question Experiencing an odd terrain clipping in Valheim on Linux

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by pipo18, Mar 21, 2021.

1. pipo18

pipo18

Hello, I'd like to know if the following experience might result from a bad configuration of Unity on my system, or rather if it is likely to be an issue with the game itself (or with its version for Linux).

I registered on unity.com only because although the game Valheim is still under development, I'm apparently alone to report what I call a terrain clipping.

Description:

At places, the solid, textured ground is overlapped by a weird black (or non textured) soil in which buildings, character and dropped items sink down until they reach solid ground beneath.
    I'm no graphical artist nor modder, but this looks exactly like when some obstacle or terrain element is missing a proper solid surface in all the games where I stumbled on this, whatever the engine. The difference here is that the faulty element appears to be added over another solid element (i.e. if it were removed, a new, fine terrain would stand beneath), and the character is not allowed to wander further through the world, anyway.
    The clipping always occurs around/inside added buildings, sometimes at sea level by the shores, and sometimes in plain wilderness, as on the screenshots.
    On screenshot 1, character is sitting on a solid, textured terrain surface, just beneath the passed-through, black surface. You can see how rocks and trees emerge from this surface. Should the character stands, he would emerge from it as well.
    There are other places (many places indeed) in game where the terrain appears like this black surface, except that it is solid.
    So, any idea of what I am looking for, in order to have this game running fine on my system (on my end), or to help devs optimizing their game on systems like mine?

The game requires GeForce GTX 500 and Direct 11.

System:

Intel Core 2 QUAD Q9550

4 GiBi RAM