Search Unity

Experienced Unity user asking for career advancing advises

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yifu, Sep 17, 2014.

?

Do you think using Unity too much can affect your career advancement?

1. Yes, of course.

63.6%
  2. Hell no.

36.4%
  1. yifu

yifu

Hi, guys,
    I have been working in game industry professionally for a little over 3 years and I have been using Unity since Unity 3.0 came out( probably 5 or 6 years ago ).
    First of all, I really want to thank Unity for keeping me employed and I know if I want to, as long as Unity exists, I will probably never worry about finding a job.
    That said, I found that jobs that requires Unity experience seem to be pretty lame , boring, not-AAA, small , low-budget, copy cat project. I think that makes sense, Unity is a super user-friendly engine and learning curve is low,price is relatively low as well, so pretty much, anyone with a brain can use it. This should be a good thing, right?

Not exactly, since I have been using Unity to develop games, my experience is pretty limited and because I am too comfortable with Unity and I have been using Unity at work all the time, I found my c++ and OpenGl skill are getting worse/outdated. When I am trying to apply a game developer role that requires C++ primarily, I found it super hard to get in that kind of position again, because they don't want someone with a lot of Unity experience, because your Unity knowledge or C# as a programming don't transfer to another company very well.