Search Unity

Experience going from self-taught to paid?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GeorgeCH, Nov 10, 2018.

1. GeorgeCH

GeorgeCH

Fellow developers –

I’m wondering if anyone here would care to share their experiences, if any, of transitioning from a self-taught Unity dev to a “paid” one, either as a freelancer or through finding a job?

For a bit of context, game development is something I started pursuing in my mid-30s as both a career change and a passion project. After plugging away at it for 2-3 years, I’ve released several mobile games – but the market being as competitive as it is, it’s hard to make something that would be financially feasible on its own.

Has anyone succeeded leveraging their self-taught origins into something that actually pays? If so, how did you deal with not having the benefit of working with more experienced developers on bugger projects (as you would in a corporate setting) where you could learn industry-standard ways of doing things?

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

I suggest you to read
    Could I make a living being an Indie Game Dev?
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/could-i-make-a-living-being-an-indie-game-dev.562096/
    Specially first few pages.
    You may get something relevant from it.

From what I gathered, for me, if anyone wanting making decent money on mobile market, either is lucky, or has long experience in game dev, or has big / decent portfolio of made games, or is a studio. Or any of these combinations. Not to miss out financing ads.

Hence, I completely avoid mobile market. For me it is near dead = over saturated.
    + you probably will relay on on some app store, which happens recently (google store), they are not reliable anyhow.
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/sudden-drop-in-number-of-daily-installs-on-google-play-store.537467/

So in my opinion, to have any chance, need to make somehow decent own backyard.

3. TonyLi

TonyLi