Search Unity

Bug Expected comma error

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Derek9132, Mar 26, 2023.

1. Derek9132

Derek9132

Hello all,

This is my first time programming player movement into unity and I am already encountering errors I do not understand. I'm receiving 6 errors, all of them saying ',' expected on various lines. What confuses me most is that sometimes the place where the compiler says the error is does not exist. For example, I believe (7,30) means line 7 character 30, but line 7 only has 24 characters. I have attached a picture as well as some txt files of my code. If someone could correct my code and give me an explanation I would be eternally grateful.

Also: I do not think the errors are in the InputManager nor PlayerLocomotion since I can add them as components just fine.

Attached Files:

2. spiney199

spiney199

Empty spaces count as characters.

Also in future, post the scripts in the body of your post in code tags. One look at your player manager and I can immediately see your syntax is invalid:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class PlayerManager : MonoBehaviour
    3.     InputManager inputManage;
    4.     PlayerLocomotion playermove;
    5. {
    Your field declarations should be after the opening curly brace of your class body.

If you're still learning, please follow C# tutorials to get the hang of the syntax, as you have to be 100% accurate.

Bunny83 likes this.
  3. Derek9132

Derek9132

I am so sorry, I had the field declarations in the right place for my other classes but I completely overlooked them for the PlayerManager class. Thank you so much for being the extra pair of eyes to spot what I couldn't see. Sorry again for such an avoidable mistake.

spiney199 likes this.
  4. Bunny83

Bunny83