Search Unity

  1. Get the latest news, tutorials and offers directly to your inbox with our newsletters. Sign up now.
    Dismiss Notice

Everytime reopening Hub it always asking for license

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Reanimate_L, Jan 25, 2018.

  1. Reanimate_L

    Reanimate_L

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Posts:
    2,465
    What the title said, everytime i Quit Hub and reopening it again. The Hub always asking me to activate the license.
     
  2. jorrit5477

    jorrit5477

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Posts:
    58
    Same here
     
  3. BorisMongeau

    BorisMongeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Posts:
    58
    There is a bug fix for the license in progress, it should be fixed soon
     
  4. bjarkeck

    bjarkeck

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    273
    Any news on this? It seems like every time I shift between opening the hub and opening Unity outside the hub, I have to re-validate the license, on either side.
     
  5. TaleOf4Gamers

    TaleOf4Gamers

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Posts:
    802
    Same, I am not sure if we are a minority but this happens to me nearly every time.
     
  6. JackPS9

    JackPS9

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    It happens to me as well, though once a while it wont ask for it.
     
  7. caffeine13

    caffeine13

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    This used to happen occasionally, but now I'm getting it every time I open HUB.
     
  8. PeterR

    PeterR

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Any news on this? It has been happening to me since hub first launched.
     
  9. XUNITY4K

    XUNITY4K

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    No. It happens still all the time.
     
  10. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    431
    Hi all,

    We're terribly sorry about this issue and hope to resolve it soon. It is possible that it was fixed in the Hub V2 (available in beta). In any case we tried to make the license flow much easier in the later and we encourage everyone to give it a try. Installing the beta shouldn't affect your current Hub as it will be installed as a separate app (please close one before opening the other). Sorry again for the inconvenience!

    Cheers,
     
    mysticvalleycsa likes this.
  11. mholmes

    mholmes

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Posts:
    371
    getting issue to, Unity hub sucks.
     
  12. terryYang

    terryYang

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    me too, it always asking me to activate the license. unity2019 must be started by unityhub, that's sucks, it can't be used up to now!
    update to 1.6.1, it still can't work.
     
    479813005 likes this.
  13. Karsten

    Karsten

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    120
    Unity hub 2.0 still always asks for a new licence you can redo the activate new licence how often you want it always reasks, my guess is that it tries to save the info somewhere where a normal user cant save stuff, it could be that if you start as admin that it works (not tested) , but even if that works it isnt a real solution
     
  14. nbasaran

    nbasaran

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I am getting the same problem each time opening the hub as well.
     
  15. viktorkadza

    viktorkadza

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Posts:
    46
    still an issue 2020 Feb
     
  16. mpamukcu

    mpamukcu

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Still happening to me too
     
  17. ddayptc

    ddayptc

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    I have the same issue. I opened a support ticket and I was told that it will be fixed in the next release. For me it is caused be the fact that we are in a open office and our docking stations are USB and the MAC address is different every day which invalidates the license. I real inconvenience.
     
  18. cfireborn

    cfireborn

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Still an issue April 2020
     
  19. ZaherHa

    ZaherHa

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    yep same here till now
     
  20. dfjhde

    dfjhde

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    still a issue till now
     
  21. Ericsheng

    Ericsheng

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    still a issue till now Unity hub sucks.
     
    dmcgr12345 likes this.
  22. Rave-TZ

    Rave-TZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    55
    I'm getting this now too. On the most recent version of Unity Hub and Unity3D (Hub 2.3.2 and Unity 2019.4f3)
     
  23. vyshnav_ks

    vyshnav_ks

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Please guys solve this problem....Its been 2 years even today also facing these problem. Every time we have to connect to internet to validate license after window restart or restarting the unity hub.
     
    PISCO_noob likes this.
  24. Ineffablevishal8055

    Ineffablevishal8055

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    its still same Mr. Everybody.. offline work now is a big issue when i dont connect to internet which i dont need really for small projects
     
  25. rizqims100

    rizqims100

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Please,fix this issue....
     
  26. ArthurofHyrule

    ArthurofHyrule

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    It's September 17th, 2020 and I am still getting this issue! I am on a laptop and when I move it in my office, or I go to my house with it I have this exact problem. All my license access just goes away, when I go to enter my serial key to activate my license it says: ‘'Machine Identification Is Invalid For Current License’’.

    The only solution is for me to completely uninstall Unity Hub EVERYDAY, and then reinstall it and then when I put my serial key in it works...
     
  27. bflorin519

    bflorin519

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Its 29 October 2020 and i still encounter this problem on my windows machine, but it works in linux(on ubuntu i only activated it once and it still works)
     
  28. INGTONY

    INGTONY

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    its anoying , evrey time , im working on my laptop and evry time i turn on and open ask me for this , whats happening
     
  29. Limyc

    Limyc

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    29
    This is still an issue. Getting license errors that require reactivation is annoying and tedious, but it's extremely frustrating when you're working offline and those errors are impossible to fix.
     
  30. congressman

    congressman

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    35
    This is still an issue; Unity please stop ignoring. Either post a useless "We are aware of this issue and will fix soon" or actually fix it.
     
  31. BenjiM_Unity

    BenjiM_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Posts:
    77
    congressman likes this.
  32. chiragbhuvaneshwar

    chiragbhuvaneshwar

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I'm facing this issue still. I use Windows. This totally sucks. Such a waste of time.
     
  33. INDIEGAMEDEV360

    INDIEGAMEDEV360

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Still in Decenber 2020 but there is a temporary fix just uninstall it and reinstall it will work fine but after shutting down pc you will have the same problem i dont why unity is not fixing it.it is causing major causes to indie game developers .unity hub should be optional but it isn't unlucky now i have to uninstall unity hub everyday and its get really frustrated unity please give some response to this problem
     
  34. CuriousTiger

    CuriousTiger

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I'm assuming this is a network issue? I use a vpn at home and whenever I switch hosts or turn the vpn off, hub immediately says I don't have a valid license, or that the one I have will expire soon (even though I have a personal license). Any timeframe for when this will be fixed?
     
  35. Ladek

    Ladek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    This problem is happening because UnityHub is using a MAC address to create a unique license and the MAC address that the license is tied to is changing.

    You can test this by running the "getmac" command on the Windows command prompt (cmd.exe), restarting your PC, and then running the "getmac" command a second time. Compare the output of the two, if it's at all different you have a MAC address that is changing and UnityHub is likely relying on it to generate a license. My guess is the UnityHub license would remain stable so long as you don't restart your PC (that's when your MAC address may change). Although Windows may change MAC address at other times.

    The gist of the fix is to make your MAC address static so that it doesn't change and invalidate your license. You can achieve that by following the steps below (there are probably other ways as well):

    If you are connected to the internet using Wi-Fi, I'd recommend looking up how to turn "Use random hardware addresses" off. You should be able to do this on Windows 10 by doing the following:
    1. Search "Settings"
    2. Click on "Network & Internet"
    3. Click "Wi-Fi"
    4. Under the "Random hardware addresses" and turn of "Use random hardware addresses"
    5. Restart your PC.
    6. Reactivate through UnityHub.
    7. Restart your PC again to make sure the license is stable.
    If you are connected to the internet using Ethernet, make sure that your Wi-Fi adapter is turned off. You should be able to turn it off on Windows 10 by doing the following:
    1. Control Panel > Network and Internet
    2. Network and Sharing Center > Change Adapter Settings
    3. Right click on "Wi-Fi" and select "Disable" in the context menu.
    4. Restart your PC.
    5. Reactivate through UnityHub.
    6. Restart your PC again to make sure the license is stable.
    I was using an ethernet connection when I ran into this problem because I also had a Wi-Fi adapter that was enabled. UnityHub seems to be selecting the Wi-Fi adapter even though I was using ethernet (hopefully they fix this bug). Alternatively if you don't want to disable your Wi-Fi adapter see the "If you are connected to the internet using Wi-Fi" section for how to make the Wi-Fi adapters MAC address static. You may need to restart your PC a few times to get things to work.
     
    pirottedamien likes this.
  36. ClicksAndLinks

    ClicksAndLinks

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Simply using the MAC address is a terrible idea! There are so many other ways of determining a unique id. For instance, Windows XP licensing used a number of pieces of data and had a kind of voting procedure where different pieces of data had a number of "votes" and for a machine to be considered the same there had to be a minimum number of votes all agreeing. This enabled you to change your network card for instance, and it would still be thought of as the same machine. Then another time you could change your CPU and that would be ok. But if you changed them at the same time then there might not be enough votes to consider it the same machine. Of course this is open to abuse, and there will always be corner cases, but it's a reasonable way of doing it for the majority of the cases.

    So at a minimum I would say MAC address, CPU ID, hard drive ID(s), and a cookie, maybe HW IDs too.

    It does make it a bit embarrassing when I am trying to demo something to a client and I have to go through the whole licencing procedure in front of them!
     
    Limyc likes this.
  37. giulio-pierucci

    giulio-pierucci

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    This!
     
  38. HexTree

    HexTree

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    This issue is happening for me every time I open UnityHub.
     
unityunity