Search Unity

Everything Canvas turns pink, when playing windows build

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Zimbres, Jun 17, 2016.

  1. Zimbres

    Zimbres

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    Hello!

    Someone knows why this happens? I've googled a bit, and I've found an interesting lead: this sort of thing happens when the shader is not pre-loaded. But... if this is happening only with uGUI elements, so... I've got clueless. First time this happens to me.
     
    Lohoris2 likes this.
  2. Zimbres

    Zimbres

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    nobody?
     
  3. Zimbres

    Zimbres

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    (SOLVED) Looks like my project settings got corrupted. Deleting the folder and restarting unity solved. Now I will try to re-do this without messing my game.
     
    theANMATOR2b likes this.
  4. aligaman22

    aligaman22

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Zimbres, I am having the same problem you had with canvas turning pink on build, just wondering how you solved it through Project settings?
     
  5. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,410
    Check that the UI shaders are included in the build settings.
     
  6. HolyManoly

    HolyManoly

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    I can't seem to fin that option in the File -> Build Settings.
    Where exactly is the option of including shaders ?
     
  7. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,410
    its one of the project settings. Edit/project settings. I can't remember which one, hopefully it won't be hard to find
     
    BrianJiang and Qosquo like this.
  8. k234234w

    k234234w

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Edit/ProjectSettings/Graphics. Fill out the Always Included Shaders. Starting a new project size = 7, Legacy Shaders/Diffuse, Hidden/CubeBlur, HiddenCubyCopy, Hidden/CubeBlend,Sprites/Default,UI/Default,UI/Default Font.
     
  9. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,410
    If you right click at the top of the inspector page for built-in shaders and choose reset it should fix it for you automatically.
     
    Hurlu_, opacen, Whiteleaf and 5 others like this.
  10. aikijeet

    aikijeet

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    This fixed the problem

    Thanks a lot sir
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  11. aguazul

    aguazul

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks! This helped me, too. The little gear at the top of the inspector page for built in shaders --> Reset

    I was having trouble with the GvrFPSCanvas prefab because it was pink! But this did the trick!
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  12. lowbrow

    lowbrow

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Dude you are awesome !!!
     
  13. developer6DLAB

    developer6DLAB

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Wow, It's true. I can't believe it.
    The problem is SOLVED when I do "reset" in Graphic Settings!!
     
    Camelia_Wang, mgstauff and karl_jones like this.
  14. BrianJiang

    BrianJiang

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you very much!!
     
  15. AshwaniShinde

    AshwaniShinde

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Posts:
    19
  16. wankerman

    wankerman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    That did it! Thanks!
     
  17. BytesCrafter

    BytesCrafter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    karl_jones likes this.
  18. ninjadragon777

    ninjadragon777

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Posts:
    1
  19. PCenrich

    PCenrich

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    Greetings!

    Forgive me for adding to this threads, I am very new to Unity and also struggling with the dreaded pink screen...
    I am attempting to open a project file that a previous co-worker built and saved in a Shared Drive. When it opens.. nothing but PINK. Under Project Settings Graphics I have the following :
    6, Legacy Shaders/Diffuse, Hidden/CubeBlur, HiddenCubyCopy, Hidden/CubeBlend,Sprites/Default,UI/Default,UI/Default Font.

    I attempted to reset graphics but I have had no success, any suggestions?
    Images of Settings attached
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Xonatron

    Xonatron

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    Same as PCenrich.

    I am getting pink rendering on Unity cubes, only in builds not in the editor.

    I have deleted the Project Settings and had Unity recreate them. No luck.

    I double checked the Project Settings > Graphics > Graphics Settings > Always Included Shaders and I have the following:

    After resetting I have the following:

    6
    0 Legacy Shaders/Diffuse
    1 Hidden/CubeBlur
    2 Hidden/CubyCopy
    3 Hidden/CubeBlend
    4 Sprites/Default
    5 UI/Default

    After running the program in Unity, it remains the same. No pink.

    After building the program, it switches to this and executes with pink:

    7
    0 Legacy Shaders/Diffuse
    1 Hidden/CubeBlur
    2 Hidden/CubyCopy
    3 Hidden/CubeBlend
    4 Sprites/Default
    5 UI/Default
    6 Hidden/VideoDecode

    Any ideas?
     
  21. futurlab_peterh

    futurlab_peterh

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    For anyone that couldn't fix this by resetting the shaders: I was able to fix it by changing/updating .NET libraries on Visual Studio Installer.

    We were building the exact same project to Switch on 2 different PCs: one of them would work perfectly, the other would only produce magenta screens with a bunch of shader error/warning messages when trying to build from Unity 2018.3.0b12 (building from Unity 2018.2 worked on both). Resetting the shaders (or any of other tons of things we've tried) had no effect.

    upload_2018-12-5_9-33-46.png

    So what we did was to export the configuration from the PC where builds were fine, importing it on the other PC, and the next build magically worked. Unfortunately I didn't take note of the previous configuration to know which component(s) caused the issue.

    If you don't have a working configuration to export, I'd suggest modifying your .NET environment, updating and/or adding components. This is what it looks like on mine:

    upload_2018-12-5_9-36-47.png upload_2018-12-5_9-37-1.png

    I hope this helps!
     
    ASydorov likes this.
  22. ASydorov

    ASydorov

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    futurlab_peterh likes this.