Search Unity

Feedback Event system refactoring

Discussion in 'Open Projects' started by zaradai, May 1, 2021.

1. zaradai

zaradai

Been a while since I looked at Unity and have started to play with it again (I am not a game programmer and normally code in Java), noticed this project and I am so impressed with the code quality and patterns used. Hopefully I can contribute in some way however small. The FSM you implemented is outstanding, love it, however I do have a slight concern with the event system. A channel should abstract the mechanism to move events from a source to destination but here it seems to be coupled to types of message and this makes it hard to fathom who raises and who handles an event, it took me a while to understand where the CameraManager::
    OnFrameObjectEvent was generated.

I also feel that because the channel has a specific type that you loose the benefit of encapsulating a schema into an event and being able to refactor without changing the transport, i.e. an event on the
    TransformEventChannelSO can't add other info without creating a new channel for it. And finally the input events impl looks different to other channels but should be the same.

In my opinion an event aggregator would be a more suitable option here so I remembered a nice one in the caliburn.micro project, took out all the thread stuff, simplified it a little and tried it on a project. I followed the SO route and made an EventAggregatorSO which also acted as a proxy.

Code (CSharp):
    1. public interface IEventAggregator {
    2.    void Subscribe(object subscriber);
    4.     void Unsubscribe(object subscriber);
    6.     void Publish(object message);
    7. }
    9. public class EventAggregatorSO : ScriptableObject, IEventAggregator
    10.     {
    11.         private readonly EventAggregator _eventAggregator = new EventAggregator();
    13. ...
    14. }