Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question European DSA

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by VentaGames, Mar 20, 2024.

1. VentaGames

VentaGames

Hi there,
    I'm a bit stuck, according to the new EU's DSA, I need to choose whether i'm a trader or not.

Here is the definition who is a trader:

The DSA defines a trader as “any natural person, or any legal person irrespective of whether privately or publicly owned, who is acting, including through any person acting in his or her name or on his or her behalf, for purposes relating to his or her trade, business, craft or profession.” If you have questions about your status as a trader, consult with your legal advisor.

I still doubt it.
    Can someone answer if i'm a trader?
    I'm an individual, who makes games and sells them over AppStore/GooglePlay.
    I'm not selling anything else that does not belong to me.

Thanks in advance.

DungDajHjep likes this.
  2. Mauri

Mauri

I think that's the important part here. Seeking legal advice online is... not really a great idea.

angrypenguin likes this.
  3. VentaGames

VentaGames

But i don't have "my legal advisor".
    I saw, that some people already taking their games off the EU market because of that since you have to publish your home address including your phone number. May be it's ok for companies, but not ok for individuals.

4. Murgilod

Murgilod

So get one.

5. andyz

andyz

Oh great EU law hurting the little guy again! And even with the UK having left I think app stores apply the same requirements here.