Search Unity

1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Error when creating actions

Discussion in 'Input System' started by GerardQ, May 30, 2020.

1. GerardQ

GerardQ

Anytime I click "Create Actions" on the Player Input component, I get this error:

This is on a fresh install of Unity 2019.3.15f1 and adding the new Input System;
    MacOSX 10.13.6

2. Rene-Damm

Rene-Damm

Could you file a ticket with the Unity bug reporter? (in the Unity editor's main menu, it's under "Help >> Report a Bug...")

3. GerardQ

GerardQ

Hi, @Rene-Damm I already did.

Here is the workaround from Unity:

ENOUGH- and oyunveyasam like this.
  4. Rene-Damm

Rene-Damm

Thanks! :)

5. KevinWood

KevinWood

I'm getting this error with the Roll A Ball tutorial, which is supposed to be an absolute beginner tutorial. I don't think asking beginners to search for solutions to bugs and then downgrade components is acceptable. Seems like a great way to turn people off!

6. deeztc

deeztc

Found my answer here. I had a custom view and once I changed it back to default the error went away.
    https://answers.unity.com/questions/696790/nullreferenceexception-unityeditorserializedobject.html

Hate to necro this, but since it persists in 19.1.1f1: The problem is, you're previewing a Serialized object from your Project, in one (or both) of your Inspector windows. When you have 2 (or more) Inspector windows open while you preview a ScriptableObject Asset, you'll get that error and be unable to compile. The reason why "it fixed itself" by restarting Unity is that your Windows Layout did not save, so you restarted with only 1 Inspector window open.

TLDR: Close any other Inspector Windows you have open while previewing a Serialized object asset. Make sure you have only 1 Inspector Window open, while previewing your SerializedObject Asset.

7. Jehutyver10

Jehutyver10