Search Unity

error: unity environment took too long to respond (after successfull connection)

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by mshajeehm, May 4, 2020.

1. mshajeehm

mshajeehm

I am a beginner to Unity so I followed this guide and trained the builtin 3dball example on my system and then moved to creating new environment.
    Then I created a custom unity environment of a snake game following the guide given here. All actions, observations etc were defined and manual input is also working fine using heuristics as explained here. The game does not require any human intervention as well as seen in video here.
    Lastly when I run the python shell command for training, it says press the play button (As usual). After pressing play button in unity, it says connected (screenshot attached). And then the game starts to take actions (at a very fast pace as compared to normal play rate) but terminal does not show anything. After some time terminal gives error that environment took too long to respond.
    I have searched and read many articles but could not get a workaround. Also I have made a video to make things clearer.
    The configuration file is same as defined in this link (except the name in first row).
    The necessary screenshots, videos, logs or any other requested material can be accessed here.
    My versions:
    ml-agents: 0.16.0, (installed via pip)
    ml-agents-envs: 0.16.0,
    Communicator API: 1.0.0,
    ml-agents used in unity package: 1.0.0
    TensorFlow: 2.0.1
    unity: 2019.3.12f1

1.png 2.png

Last edited: May 5, 2020
  2. christophergoy

christophergoy

Unity Technologies

Hi @mshajeehm,
    Would you be willing to share your project for us to test?

3. christophergoy

christophergoy

Unity Technologies

Could you also share your editor logs?

4. mshajeehm

mshajeehm

Yes for sure. (by share you mean collaborate? or upload whole project) Please send me your unity id/email so that I may share it with you.