Search Unity

Error 'SUCCEEDED(hr)'

Discussion in '5.5 Beta' started by LazyDog_Rich, Sep 15, 2016.

  1. LazyDog_Rich

    LazyDog_Rich

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    Hi everyone!

    In all the betas of 5.5 I keep getting this error:

    Assertion failed on expression: 'SUCCEEDED(hr)'

    I cant make a bug report because I dont know how to reproduce it. It happen randomly.
    Sometimes in empty projects even before I import nothing.
    Sometimes I can work fine for hours withour error and for now reason it spawn.
    Sometimes it spawn has soon as I open Unity

    The problem is that once it spawn, dosnt stop and spawn like 4 times for second.
    I try a lot of stuff like changing scenes, change layout, etc etc. The only thing that solves it is closing and re-open Unity.

    Good thing is I can save before close.

    Actually using Unity 5.5.0b3 (64-bit), but happens in all the older 5.5 beta versions
     
  2. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    5,573
    Unfortunately 'SUCCEEDED(hr)' is used in a lot of assertions in the engine so its not possible to narrow down the cause from that. We are trying to improve our assertion messages. Could you post the log file from when it happens?
     
    LazyDog_Rich likes this.
  3. LazyDog_Rich

    LazyDog_Rich

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    I think most of the times it happens when I minimize the window or open something else(like the browser or vs) and when I back to Unity it start to launch that error. But sometimes also happens when I hit play, it start to spawn that error when I stop play mode. Those are the most common cases, but can happen in any momment .

    The log file is right click on console > OpenEditorLog?
    I'll add it next time it happens
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  4. Tomas1856

    Tomas1856

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Posts:
    2,777
    LazyDog_Rich and karl_jones like this.
  5. Slimenian

    Slimenian

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    I fixed it by installing unity and uninstalling unity beta. That fixed it
     
  6. LazyDog_Rich

    LazyDog_Rich

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    This is what it said now I enable trace logging full:

    Assertion failed on expression: 'SUCCEEDED(hr)'
    0x00000001414C660B (Unity) StackWalker::GetCurrentCallstack
    0x00000001414C82BE (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    0x0000000141497AA3 (Unity) GetStacktrace
    0x00000001411A328B (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x00000001411A36FC (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x00000001409795BD (Unity) D3D11Window::Reshape
    0x00000001409DF48B (Unity) GfxDeviceWorker::RunCommand
    0x00000001409E0F0F (Unity) GfxDeviceWorker::Run
    0x00000001409C4A7D (Unity) GfxDeviceWorker::RunGfxDeviceWorker
    0x0000000140F563DC (Unity) Thread::RunThreadWrapper
    0x000000007761652D (kernel32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    0x000000007774C541 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart

    And here is the log file:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    5,573
    So it looks like its failing on D3D11Window::Reshape. You can see an error in the log just before the assert

    So for some reason the width and height values are wrong.
    Could you file a bug report so we can further investigate it?
    Post the number here so I can follow it.
     
    LazyDog_Rich likes this.
  8. LazyDog_Rich

    LazyDog_Rich

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    Done, the report number is 832245. Thanks for help, let me know if you need any info of my pc or there's any workaround for the mean time :D
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  9. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    5,573
    Do you have your game view undocked? We have a similar bug that happens with this.
     
  10. LazyDog_Rich

    LazyDog_Rich

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Posts:
    64
    I have it small in a corner:
     
  11. fogsight

    fogsight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Posts:
    65
    Same error popped up today in 5.5.0b3, spamming console constantly, stops when starting the app. New project, on the scene just a few buttons. Opened and closed 5.4.0f3 in parallel, before it happened, may have had something to do with it (could not reproduce).
    And Editor.log spams:

    Assertion failed on expression: 'SUCCEEDED(hr)'
    (Filename: C:\buildslave\unity\build\Runtime/GfxDevice/d3d11/D3D11Window.cpp Line: 94)

    d3d11: swap chain: w=1094954462 h=1 fmt=28
    d3d11: failed to create swap chain [0x80070057]
     
  12. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    5,573
    Thanks. We are looking into it.
     
    EAOEnt likes this.
unityunity