Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are looking for feedback on the experimental Unity Safe Mode which is aiming to help you resolve compilation errors faster during project startup.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Error: "Shader properties can't be added to this global property sheet."

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by JJJAGUAR, Dec 25, 2017.

  1. JJJAGUAR

    JJJAGUAR

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Sometimes I get the attached errors for no reason.
    I'm still able to compile and run the game and everything works fine. Sometimes the errors even disappear, but come back randomly. Any ideas what is this?
     

    Attached Files:

    Ayushjadham likes this.
  2. drcrck

    drcrck

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    306
    This thing is not fixed and still happens
     
  3. Immu

    Immu

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Posts:
    185
    Same problem here. using Unity 2018.1.6f1 (with LWRP)
     
    JuratePasekaite likes this.
  4. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    My Frost Nova spell was working fine, 2017.1.0f3. Crashed. Throws this error every time now.
     
  5. Cinabutts0

    Cinabutts0

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Damn, i was hoping for an answer lol I'm using Unity 2018.1.6f1. I tried this lowpolywater asset and it's giving me this error and not making the water shader work.

    Shader properties can't be added to this global property sheet. Trying to add _RefractionTex (type 3 count 1)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
    MadyStudio likes this.
  6. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    It seems to come and go without warning or reason. A restart or two seems to put it at rest.
     
  7. purnamasari

    purnamasari

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Posts:
    17
    Damn, this things ruin my project. All I had to do is remove this experimental package and change the shader to standard again. Seriously, backup your project before trying this new things.
     
  8. drcrck

    drcrck

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    306
    Just deleted 20 GB of editor logs full of this error :mad:
     
  9. stream_in_space_

    stream_in_space_

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Switching between a scenes helped to me, unlike to rebooting the project and the pc... magic error.
     
    efazez likes this.
  10. drcrck

    drcrck

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    306
    Any ways to understand what object causes it, at least?
    I get 999+ messages every time I switch to Scene tab

    PS Disable editor logs by adding -logFile NUL to unity shortcut or they'll take all available space on your system disk
     
  11. alanmthomas

    alanmthomas

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Posts:
    196
    I just ran into this for the first time after installing the LWRP package. Oddly, it didn't occur until a day into using the LWRP. I've managed to resolve it. It was a matter of finding the offensive shader and deleting it.
     
  12. Bas-Smit

    Bas-Smit

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Posts:
    148
  13. jeffweber

    jeffweber

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    For what it's worth, I'm getting this currently in 2019.3.6 beta... seems tied to the Universal Rendering Pipline??
    Screen Shot 2019-10-04 at 2.35.28 PM.png
     
  14. jeffweber

    jeffweber

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    584
    Still getting this... in 2019.3.0f3
     
    iyengaranirudhan likes this.
  15. Tushar98

    Tushar98

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Try,
    Edit -> Render Pipeline -> Lightweight ( or High Definition) Rendering Pipeline -> Upgrade Project to LightweightRP (or HighDefinitionRP) Materials
    It may help. This solved my problem.
     
    ZombieLuka likes this.
  16. iyengaranirudhan

    iyengaranirudhan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I have imported an asset an it says the same . Shader properties can't be added to this global property sheet. Trying to add _GrabTexture_HDR (type 1 count 1) in unity in 2019.3.3f1
     
  17. Adam_Starcaster

    Adam_Starcaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    37
    This is annoying, worked fine before now its f'ed.
     
  18. apeltheoryx

    apeltheoryx

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    I'm now getting this error, as well.
     
    geraldp48 likes this.
  19. ffman22

    ffman22

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    36
    I am getting that error but with the Universal render pipeline with the 2D set up
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Shader properties can't be added to this global property sheet. Trying to add _BackgroundTexture_ST (type 1 count 1)
    2. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
    wlwlz likes this.
  20. Melloe

    Melloe

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    No leads for fixes on this?
     
  21. wlwlz

    wlwlz

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    I get the same error.
     
  22. Hobodi

    Hobodi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Posts:
    26
    same error 2019.3.12f
     
  23. ZombieLuka

    ZombieLuka

    Joined:
    May 1, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks man this solved the issue for me.
     
  24. zZMattZz

    zZMattZz

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    I also have this error, and all the solutions posted have not worked. If I open up a new project, import a package with the same assets, the shaders work fine. Quite frustrating, I have due dates on this work, and I've put in a lot of effort into what I have.
     
  25. zZMattZz

    zZMattZz

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Furthermore, if I make a package out of my main project to import into a new one where the shaders are working, the shaders from the package don't work as well.
     
  26. dark_tonic

    dark_tonic

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Posts:
    129
    We had this issue and in our case we traced it back to a cutout shader included with the Realistic Effects Pack which was never updated. We nuked that whole folder and our errors disappeared. YMMV but this solved it in our case.
     
    unity_-ZmyGk6TRUt9jQ likes this.
  27. Tyrant41101

    Tyrant41101

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    the errors only show up if you either have the gameobject w/ the shader on one of its materials selected, or if it is being rendered by the camera (editor camera too). You can use when the errors start and stop as you rotate the camera to pinpoint the gameobject w/ the faulty shader (if u are running a srp, something w/ a shader for a different srp usually is the problem.)

    If this doesn't work, see if all of your project materials are in the latest version (edit-renderpipeline-upgradeprojectmaterials) and check if ur srp is on the latest version too

    Hope this fixes your problems!
     
  28. Tyrant41101

    Tyrant41101

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    they only appear when the shader is within the frustum of the editor camera
     
unityunity