Search Unity

Error Message NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object

Discussion in '2D' started by ky0to_, Feb 21, 2021.

1. ky0to_

ky0to_

The full error message is:
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    PlayerAttack.Update () (at Assets/Scripts/PlayerAttack.cs:26).
    I am currently working on a 2d game similar to Binding of Isaac that uses procedural generation. This particular script allows the player to damage enemies by using a physics2D overlap circle. The error actually triggers every time the player hits an enemy. I've spent hours trying to figure out what is wrong with my code and, but can't quite crack it! Thanks very much for your help, I'm sure there's a simple fix but I'm a beginner in Unity.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. public class PlayerAttack : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     private float timeBtwnAttack; //the amount of time between each attack (so the player can't spam it)
    8.     public float startTimeBtwnAttack;
    10.     public Transform attackPos;
    11.     public LayerMask whatIsEnemies;//ensures player only attacks enemies
    12.     public float attackRange;
    13.     public int damage;
    14.     EnemyFollow TakeDamage;
    17.     void Update()
    18.     {
    19.         if(timeBtwnAttack <= 0) //if true, allows player to attack
    20.         {
    21.             if (Input.GetMouseButton(0)) //if player uses mouse left click (attack button in my game)
    22.             {
    23.                 Collider2D[] enemiesToDamage = Physics2D.OverlapCircleAll(attackPos.position, attackRange, whatIsEnemies); //casts circle in a certain position and radius, and enemies inside it take damage.
    24.                 for (int i = 0; i < enemiesToDamage.Length; i++)
    25.                 {