Search Unity

  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. All Pro and Enterprise subscribers: find helpful & inspiring creative, tech, and business know-how in the new Unity Success Hub. Sign in to stay up to date.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Error Loading Launcher

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Simon1964, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. HanSoloYolo

    HanSoloYolo

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    19
    I just started getting this error message today. I shut down my computer last night after working on a project and this morning after Power-Up and launching Unity this message appeared in the console and caused me to Google it and arrive here.

    Therefore, BUMPIDDY BUMP BUMP BUMP please!

    I am OCD and prefer to have a clean console. =)
     
  2. twaananen

    twaananen

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Error loading launcher://unity//Users/tommi/Library/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=IhRV1Ue9Gs0VA8ocbPcvEg006f&locale=en&session_state=1684862cb8bffed6c63971d9de592b51f86385f015141d8ec6beadbccb0b5f5e.wh3ufiaoh0P61KCHt7xPpQ006f

    With this bug all my scripts disconnected from my gameobjects. They are replaced by "Nothing selected". It says "The associated script cannot be loaded. Please fix any compile errors and assing a valid script." The only error is the one above and all my scripts are in their folders and loaded into unity as normal. Doesn't seem too benign to me.
     
  3. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    10,344
    Can you provide a screenshot of your Console tab? I suspect it is a different cause, unless other users on this thread are seeing similar behavior?
     
  4. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    10,344
    Can someone on this thread try 2017.2.0b7 which looks to have been released today? I wasn't seeing this error originally, so I wouldn't be able to tell if it has been addressed.
     
  5. dnosralla

    dnosralla

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Got this error after installing 2017.2.0b6 on a fresh windows 10 with creators update.
    Just installed 2017.2.0b7 and got same error.
     
  6. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    10,344
    @dnosralla Thanks for confirming. It was mentioned that it would be addressed in the 2017.2 Final.
     
  7. Alienmadness

    Alienmadness

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    106

    I got this error when i upgraded TextMesh Pro to the lastest version on the asset store. the DLL for 2017.x is the wrong verison and you have to go to their website and grab it and replace the existing. That was at least my issue when i got the "nothing selected" issue yesterday (or the day before)
     
  8. eco_bach

    eco_bach

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,601
    Where is "C:\Users\name\AppData\Roaming\Unity\Packages" in OSX?
     
  9. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    10,344
    I believe it's located under ~/Library/Unity/. Are you seeing this error on a Mac too?
     
  10. fufu77

    fufu77

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    I did get the Error loading launcher:/ etc., but I am not sure and hoping this is a separate issue However, you are correct that unity editor freezing might not necessarily be a causality by the error message. I will post to this forum in case it happens again.
     
  11. cedixon

    cedixon

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    I'm seeing this on a MacBook Pro - macOS 10.12.6, Unity 2017.1.0f3.
     
  12. HanSoloYolo

    HanSoloYolo

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    19
    I wonder if this has anything to do with Unity Personal versus Unity Pro. I only started getting this message after I stopped paying for Unity Pro. I plan on getting Unity Pro again, but current times call for cutbacks. Hehe.

    So I wonder if your license key has something to do with this issue?
     
  13. icarumba44

    icarumba44

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Same error here.
     
  14. Jbrandan

    Jbrandan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    18-8-2017
    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/JosueB/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=H4O9CG-n8LqZKDLzzZph_A002f&locale=en&session_state=1dec1956612eb4f46cdc7bd63df3a81ea769ae6a881fb730ed01569cb270dc88.uYxd-PQHQDI-DolA1h_oqA001f

    UnityEditor.GenericMenu:CatchMenu(Object, String[], Int32)
     
  15. luCmoi

    luCmoi

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same error here. I agree with @InventorDerek it might be linked to switching from Unity Pro to Unity Personal, i used for my work a Unity Pro account before and i am back to a Personal one. I even kept the black version of Unity.
    (Sorry if the English is bad i am not a fluent speaker)
     
  16. Okaay_guy

    Okaay_guy

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I'm gonna go to torrents, GET AN OLD VERSION OF UNITY, Use That. =)
     
  17. Twistedlink07

    Twistedlink07

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    There's no need to search for torrents of the old releases, they're available in the download archive hosted by unity, found here:
    https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive

    I'm also posting to confirm another instance of this "Error Loading Launcher" bug:
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/<redacted>/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=<redacted>&locale=en&session_state=<redacted>
    3.  
    4. UnityEditor.GenericMenu:CatchMenu(Object, String[], Int32)
    Edit:
    To add some details, while this is not a clean install of windows, this is a fresh install of Unity 2017.1.0f3, 64-bit, on Windows 10.

    This is using a Personal license, I'm a recent grad wanting to get into developing games and the like.

    I have not tried to change permissions on the file in question. I have tried to log out and in via the editor while it is open, to no success. Doing so actually posts a second error message, identical to the one above.

    For me, so far, it does appear to be a benign bug, only adding a small error to my error log, and not impacting any of my ability to use the editor.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017
  18. Boardaic

    Boardaic

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    For me the message isn't harmless, it means my unity crashes everytime I test the project, also deleting the packaged didnt help
     
  19. Boardaic

    Boardaic

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    I have the same error and unity crashes everytime I test my project
     
  20. xorud

    xorud

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    when I entire unity the Error message is come Why
    (..i can't english well please understand me)
    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/user/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=ZOXopSsbI9Iv3ucDOhBFhA011f&locale=en&session_state=0b951c2918385600efebb21fc59d9ce25df4d7f11036527eaebaa16ca395a1d9.98cmehhvzu3cCKU3lttJRQ00bf#/login
     
  21. Zerzuskan

    Zerzuskan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    I do still have this error today on 2017 1.0f3, however the error doesnt seem to have influence on my project in any way.
     
  22. Keita-kun

    Keita-kun

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    Hi guys,
    I think this issue is related to the 5x assets not being converted correctly to 2017 1 of 3 version, as my error
    launcher://unity/C:/Users/name/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=_IE5DMTGi43Amr1VF7neiw018f&locale=en&session_state=a47be3683e2751050bfef4c0cb58fddd2fba23ae77c185a52b744466b9b80745.gj1aKpSKSpXUPF7xa-zKmA018f#/login

    started after I downloaded unity_chan asset
    as per log off/login it bring additional error only like this:...UnityEditor.GenericMenu:CatchMenu(Object, String[], Int32)
    Indeed it does no harm for now will wait for update.
     
  23. Datapax

    Datapax

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I have just upgraded to U2017.1.0f3p from 5.x and now I'm getting this error all the time.

    I have tried to delete the "Packages" folder, as recommended, but it wouldn't solve the issue for me.

    However, if I click "Clear" in the console, the error disappears and doesn't show back again till I restart Unity.

    It doesn't prevent me from working either, but it is very annoying!

    Win7 64bits (not a fresh install)
    Unity 2017.1.0f3 Personal (upgraded from 5.x)
     
    eXonius likes this.
  24. Peecha

    Peecha

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    I started getting this error since i have been added to organization. I can't access Unity Services. Project can't be linked. Refreshing access produces more errors:

    UnityConnectOrganizationRequest: Timed out while fetching orgs - please check your network connection
    UnityConnectUserInfoRequest: Timed out while fetching user - please check your network connection

    macOS Sierra 10.12.4
    Unity 2017.1.0f3 Personal
     
  25. Tigersong

    Tigersong

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Posts:
    60
    Apparently the answer is not to install 5.6 alongside 2017. When I tried, it would show the splash screen, and then the "sign in and choose project" window turned black and useless. I've uninstalled 5.6 and am going to try a reset (Windows 10, the latest version).

    What is the "launcher" the error refers to? Is it the launcher/hub I've heard rumors of, or something else entirely? And I restarted- it gets to the "choose project" window, but it's blank- no buttons to click on.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2017
  26. Drohoshi

    Drohoshi

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hey,

    I've got the same error here.
    Each time i want to create and open a new project...

    What should i do?

    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/Name/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=_KGcICfUHv2x6tGyZlqcVw008f&locale=en&session_state=5e692c8150ea9b358c6afaf0cea7121ca99a9554d0cb490831b7060ec0017fbb._AdV768tqEpNQDHScSb3nw00af#/login
     
  27. Keita-kun

    Keita-kun

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    Hi i am not a supporter of ZZ-top procudures(format reinstall), since u did install 2 versions which in most cases is bad habit I suggest you install a registry clearner like CC and clean any ref to unity in your registry. If you're lucky a windows update happened at same time so look for the last restore point u have(check if you didn't any system alteration at same time)
    in short do a restore if possible clean registry then reinstall the version you want to work with
     
  28. Keita-kun

    Keita-kun

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    this one was Answered before
    Feedback from UnityTech: Will be fixed in 2017.2 final
     
  29. skwjdwns

    skwjdwns

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I deleted Unity and downloaded previous version. Then the problem is disappeared. But My projects didn't opened, So I Started new project.
     
  30. Peecha

    Peecha

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    I have identified the culprit. Somehow there was different cloudProjectId set in ProjectSettings.asset, thus everytime i pressed Refresh access it logged in editor log http 404 request error. So i edited the .asset file with the right project id and restarted Unity and services linked. Also the error loading launcher disappeared.
     
  31. Electriic

    Electriic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    How do I get the correct project ID?
     
  32. Peecha

    Peecha

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    19
  33. Natalynn

    Natalynn

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/Name/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=Ond4Uq0Lc2-UrmERyHxVLQ004f&locale=en&session_state=205ff5750d57e6095dadb8ba97835db9d9fc097f28b478d9bf9f7168f865ddc0.AvY6xY7ujjCMw2Pqqed7tQ018f

    Still happens in 2017.2.0b8
     
  34. twaananen

    twaananen

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Here is the console tab. At first it only showed up with the selected error. But after changing a script the other errors started appearing too. As I said before, all scripts on gameobjects are unusable and also I cannot re-add them or any other script to any gameobject. Scripts on gameobjects as show in second screenshot.

    I am on mac OS X 10.11.6

    Screen Shot 2017-08-25 at 19.50.34.png Screen Shot 2017-08-25 at 19.51.00.png
     
  35. twaananen

    twaananen

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    I didn't have TextMesh Pro in the project when this error appeared :(
     
  36. jumpstarter

    jumpstarter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/*****/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=LTkUpFMyhOFU6ILY7RLeiQ008f&locale=en&session_state=63983fe5d20540ed56b2b633f10b651094170af4ad79bddb5ad1d3ed740b53e2.GtlDJAzZSmmu3ZtfWWKikw006f

    Nice.... just lost more or less my whole project :(
     
  37. Inly

    Inly

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I'm getting the same error with a slightly different "code". My error triggers on Unity launch, but it doesn't cause any problems unless I try executing scripts when playing. Then they all fail. Issue doesn't go away when re-install. I'm on Mac OSX 10.11.6 and running Unity 2017.1.0f3 (Personal). I am a new Unity user and have never successfully run Unity without getting this error. I opened the "Roll a Ball" tutorial to begin with.

    Error loading launcher://unity//Users/****/Library/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=Y1AfGu5nQ7Co9rSU7ZxtPw003f&locale=en&session_state=2d7ffdb10adae670f983a3a2db4a1570e2395ed5edae580835dea04405c9e6e0.28K_vpsXueHB3lqzvgD2gA004f
     
  38. Inly

    Inly

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Agree. Didn't resolve my issue, either, but thanks!
     
  39. calovi

    calovi

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    HI, have the same problem Error loading launcher://unity//Users/****/Library/Unity/Packages/ ...

    So I decided to remove the 2017.1 version. I installed the previous personal version and I did update for the pro. Then I installed 2017.1 for direct pro and disappeared the message.
     
  40. tnaseem

    tnaseem

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Posts:
    145
    Yes it's happening on the Mac too:

    Error loading launcher://unity//Users/tarique/Library/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=RntBLNbBVkqmSenaKxj_mg003f&locale=en&session_state=af1b99ae1cf787e46b7c779d1983609297ec32d1c23043077c5b8d2eda48724a.D10Eh7vuXpteJqrV0yPu8g012f

    Deleting the Packages folder doesn't fix it. Nor does logging out and back in via the Accounts button in the top right, as suggested by someone earlier.

    Not sure I want to upgrade to the Beta release of 2017.2 yet, as we're in mid-dev cycle at the moment, and not a great time to be fiddling with updates!

    On an unrelated note, I've also got assets not showing up in my Downloads section, despite me buying them.

    Both these issues started to happen once I was put on the new Unity Asset Store (Beta). Support request is in, so will await a solution to that too!

    Just mentioning it here in case someone else has been seeing the same thing to see if there's any connection.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2017
  41. RomanQrr

    RomanQrr

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem. Just installed 2017.1.0f3 on a fresh computer. After 2 minutes of fiddling around everything dissipated and does not render.
     
  42. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    In case this helps Unity tech support, my project was ok yesterday and nothing changed in my Unity settings or project with the exception this was the first time I ran through the build settings and setup a new Keystore so I could upload to the Play Store.

    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/Shmolin/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=JXU5SVDZ5-WIhRxd3rTQow009f&locale=en&session_state=d3c3dd064b80d0a1c0d2577c70a6ad027784c3b0a430a20f7ef678db4d6cd086.MTAEtkUB0MBeUB3_jGKflQ01af
     
  43. Setmaster

    Setmaster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    204
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/redacted/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=u31En_CIf5uZgZCA8XkJZg012f&locale=en&session_state=8fe273f90ef1861a0d64bf67961e6427f37679d2ffe5dada9e341977d56faed4.simVZMIVCrFy3IyOKmQ_YQ019f
    2.  
    Still happening after I wiped C:\Users\name\AppData\Roaming\Unity\Packages and Unity downloaded them again.
     
  44. JooSeongMoon

    JooSeongMoon

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I think this error is related to making html url information.
    I tested the path with fixed url by adding '#' character after index.html and then i can open the related url. :
    ..../unity-editor-home/dist/index.html#?...

    To solve this problem, I recommend that you place the '#' after index.html in the code that creates the path associated with unity-editor-home.

    Please, Unity Technologies reference my cases!
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  45. Xype

    Xype

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Posts:
    339
    2017.1.0p4 same issue. Logged. You say benign, if thats the case I need to work on tracking another bug for you. Unity random crashes, clean install, fresh project, just left it running to see what would happen did nothing, yep crashed after a few hours. Personally think its related. It is not asset related cause again clean install, no assets.

    Considering both of my issues did not happen at all no matter what I was doing when I had 2017.1.0b(something dont remember) but I upgraded to 0p4 after the security issue was mentioned to me by a collegue. Maybe that patch to fix the pretty darn serious security exploit messed something up, considering that had to do with connection to the asset store. Now you say benign, again, maybe for most but you arent bothering to think about those of us doing networking, it may not be as benign as you thing, please fix this sooner than later. Seriously I can't stand red, already get really peaved off at all the yellow warnings unity sends. I can open 100 files in intellij with java and mess with them all day with not a single compile issue.
     
  46. Xype

    Xype

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Posts:
    339
    Not a fix, putting the # there stops the line, which is why you can open it. However the information after is what gets sent to....places. It is the node npm stuff though, if i can figure out the gist of it ill be going through it. Should be a quick learning curve but never did node.js so yay.. Its a big file though gonna take me a good bit to get through it, over 10k lines. However now im curious so I need to go through it, I feel like thats where they messed up and were allowing our information to be sent to other people when we hit the asset store.

    Also they have google analytics, on our side of connections, NO UNITY NO, I did not authorize that did I? Please show me where in the EULA it says you can stick stuff on my computer to send to a third party I did not authorize. I only have a contract with you, not google. That needs to go NEXT OFFICIAL RELEASE, or we gonna have a problem.

    If you need analytics great, put it on your side of the connection, and make sure that connection is ssl secure, you don't put that on our side.

    Another thing, the reason crap breaks all the darn time. I don't mean like the beta that has backwards compat problems thats due to a good change going modular. However I went through bitbucket and the 2 githubs today.... How about stop experimenting with stupid stuff like Q-learning and fix the darn bugs that have been around and reported forever.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2017
  47. LeansYouriy

    LeansYouriy

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    thank you~
     
  48. TharosTheDragon

    TharosTheDragon

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Posts:
    13
    As suggested, I tried signing out and signing back in. Now there are two copies of the error in my console, but with different codes and session_states. However, the second instance of the error has this at the end:

    UnityEditor.GenericMenu:CatchMenu(Object, String[], Int32)

    I'm using Unity 2017.1.0f3 with Windows 8.1.
     
  49. Xype

    Xype

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Posts:
    339
    Just remember if you buy something from the asset store save your email. Order numbers are not in your account >< made it rather difficult to get support on an asset. The issue is due to a change on the asset store end.
     
  50. IamKayrox

    IamKayrox

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Same problem here guys
    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/IamKa/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=TXec2fpX9VCF7nfCGtJHpw012f&locale=en&session_state=c2cf71b5b8163a25fe75d4a473d61c36dd64482d57f2e748a66c065ebd78acac.soM12UnEAsxnlWjuML3Isg019f
     
unityunity