Search Unity

Error Loading Launcher

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Simon1964, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. Simon1964

    Simon1964

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    I got the following error when I tried adding a new script. The script is short and has no errors. What does this error mean?

    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/Owner/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=IsDvNTVTrEWedscWMdJUJg005f&locale=en&session_state=a264b2d976aff23ce08cea374f53fe67be7c137f1906b0d5d103173366655d63.wwoFXAF-qdEJYEoJ7ov2-g00af

    UnityEditor.GenericMenu:CatchMenu(Object, String[], Int32)
     
    Adithkv, Inly, xorud and 1 other person like this.
  2. Indemonai_Games

    Indemonai_Games

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Same problem here... Lost a morning of work trying to understand what was happening, uninstalling and re-installing Unity 2 or 3 times to no success.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
    paulnaude likes this.
  3. neilbrewis

    neilbrewis

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    I'm have the same error on launch, did anyone find a solution? Started after I tried to install Octane but have now uninstalled and am still receiving the error. I'm using Unity 2017.1.0f with a MSoft Surface Pro 4, i7. Tried re-install but still no change.
     
  4. ukgamer_

    ukgamer_

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Also getting this error on a new install of Unity 2017.1.0f3, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
     
  5. sergioem

    sergioem

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    Same! warding here. I guess has to do with old files from old versions of unity.
     
  6. DEichEich

    DEichEich

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue here. Unity 2017.1.0f3, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
     
    paulnaude likes this.
  7. neilbrewis

    neilbrewis

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Not entirely sure it is the older files. I've tried a new blank project and received the same error. Also tried removing suspect packages and old assets from the full project but all without success. Unity is working otherwise, although it is now struggling to compute Final Gather, which it wasn't prior to the error.
     
  8. jamessimpsonlx

    jamessimpsonlx

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    I'm getting it too, tried it on 3 different PCs using 2017.1 6.2 and 6.0.
    Are you all using Using UWP?
     
  9. Odyne

    Odyne

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem here:

    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/gebruiker/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=N18EM9kERZS5Uu4GxWUKow01af&locale=en&session_state=5bf5890ae808711e986676d4ed2e78200aff4ef61486ebb83a34437436cb7944.wguJtzvSOy0N9GQg5xNHvA008f#/login
     
  10. jamessimpsonlx

    jamessimpsonlx

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Maybe its the latest windows 10 update?
     
  11. neilbrewis

    neilbrewis

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    I hadn't actually updated Windows for some time and still received the error. I'm updating now to see if that makes any difference.
     
  12. jamessimpsonlx

    jamessimpsonlx

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    I tried the 2017.2 beta and still the same problem.
     
  13. Reahreic

    Reahreic

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Posts:
    110
    Seems to be a benign error, it appeared when i upgraded from 5.6 to 2017, but doesn't cause any compilation or build problems.
     
    Phils0nDev and AdiArdelean17 like this.
  14. RipperRoo

    RipperRoo

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Anything new about this?
     
  15. sathya

    sathya

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    240
    Bump.
     
  16. INFEWSUNL

    INFEWSUNL

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    The error is because your login hasn't been validated and there are some purchased assets in your project which require you to login to your account. I had the same error. Check the account tab on the top right corner of your scene and verify whether you are logged in. If you aren't, you'll see your user name displayed. Click on it and you'll be logged in. I was able to remove this error once I logged in from that tab.
    Hope this helps.
     
  17. sathya

    sathya

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    240
    Tried that. No luck.
     
    paulnaude likes this.
  18. DeepShader

    DeepShader

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    629
    Same here.. macOS with Unity 2017.1.0p2

    If I try to login via the Account button the window flashes up for a short moment and the console gives me that error.. again and again.
     
  19. Elethiomel

    Elethiomel

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I had a similar issue although it wasn't stopping me getting into/using Unity, it appeared as an error in red text in the footer/status bar (I'm new to Unity, not sure what that area is called).

    In my case I seem to have fixed it by changing the permissions on the c:\users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Unity\ folder in Windows so that ordinary Windows users (not just administrators) have full permission to the folder in Windows (right click folder -> properties -> edit -> add and then add the "Users" group to the permissions and make sure they have full control).

    As usual with Windows, your mileage may vary...
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2017
    sousou9 likes this.
  20. sathya

    sathya

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Posts:
    240
    Tried that as well. still the error shows up
     
  21. ThirdQuestionmark

    ThirdQuestionmark

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Any news on this? I have the same problem since yesterday evening :(
     
  22. DeepShader

    DeepShader

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    629
    No -.- I already submitted this bug and wrote the support twice.. no response. This is very bad. Specially for all the Plus and Pro members, who pay every month and now we can't work...
     
    Tigersong likes this.
  23. SPandy

    SPandy

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Morning , same issue here and this method gets me into UNITY - when opening UNITY go to accounts and sign-out , when it asks you to sign-in skip this , then open a project ( and clear error ), this at least fires UNITY up , the error i get using latest version ( 2017.1.0f3 ) on OS X

    - Error loading launcher://unity//Users/MYNAME/Library/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=iypkXlgMd9juBxI4PrSMpA007f&locale=en&session_state=9e48f3f94be77bfedcd7bfc6ed5d407a862e3a506fce08c32e620bb3b8f65abd.BPuSjFpdb14KOeEc06gV9Q005f#/login

    So simply make sure you're not signed into your account when starting UNITY :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  24. DeepShader

    DeepShader

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    629
    All of you: Send a bug report to Unity and/or write a mail to the support!
     
  25. DeepShader

    DeepShader

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    629
    Could all of you still download and update through the AssetStore? This is also not working anymore for me.
     
  26. OsamaDeep

    OsamaDeep

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    just go to services tap and login again, worked for me and error gone
    but you need to do this every time you start unity again

    _______________
    Unity Certified Developer
     
    prjectunknwn likes this.
  27. ThirdQuestionmark

    ThirdQuestionmark

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Download and update is working
     
  28. DeepShader

    DeepShader

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    629
  29. Cervelx

    Cervelx

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    i have the same issue... Error loading launcher://unity/C:/Users/User/AppData/Roaming/Unity/Packages/node_modules/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html

    Any news ?
     
  30. DeepShader

    DeepShader

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    629
    No, please report that bug, too.

    It's important that UnityTech notifies, that a lot of people got this problem :)
     
  31. DeepShader

    DeepShader

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    629
    Feedback from UnityTech: Will be fixed in 2017.2 final
     
  32. SoldierofYHVH

    SoldierofYHVH

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    8
  33. zapposh

    zapposh

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Posts:
    83
    Same problem. The various workarounds did not solve the issue. 2017.1 p2 Win10 64bit
     
  34. DeepShader

    DeepShader

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    629
    Feedback from UnityTech: Will be fixed in 2017.2 final
     
  35. jamessimpsonlx

    jamessimpsonlx

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Do we know when 2017.2 final will be released?
     
    GamerPET likes this.
  36. megabrobro

    megabrobro

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Posts:
    100
    same problem here. I had to reinstall windows yesterday. Clean install windows 10. Then I had the crap about needing The Creators Update before I could install my 1060 GTX drivers. Now I just started Unity (without any project files existing anywhere on my PC) and it gives me this error every time I start a project.

    Annoyinly I had the same version of windows and Unity up til the reinstall, so im guessing it is to do with either the new Windows updates or Nvidia
     
  37. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    6,678
    Just spoke to engineering here, they mention the following:

    "This message is harmless, but you can still try to navigate to this location:

    C:\Users\name\AppData\Roaming\Unity\Packages

    First make a local backup, then delete everything in this folder. When you restart Unity, needed packages will be downloaded and hopefully the error will not appear. If you still see the error, you can safely ignore it for now."

    The plan is the fix will be in 2017.2 final, no specific ETA yet.
     
  38. OsamaDeep

    OsamaDeep

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    not work too. just ignore it right now

     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
  39. minerprosk123

    minerprosk123

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    2017.2 is now beta try it
     
  40. agiusr

    agiusr

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same here I think that it is the latest version that has this bug and there is no way around it I suppose
     
  41. Silverten

    Silverten

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    This has only for me happened today (08-11-2017) -- I used Unity (community / free only) yesterday, and no problems. Today I have to provide login credentails even to use.. Even after a re-install of the product this still shows up.

    I wouldn't care except that I can't event look at variables in Visual Studio in debug mode for a project... Is it relayed? I'm not sure, except that this is the only thing that has changed....
     
  42. Silverten

    Silverten

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Using a beta version is certainly no answer to such simple posts as this...
     
  43. DemyHallar

    DemyHallar

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I fixed it by opening the Asset Store tab and making sure it shows that I'm logged in. Then chose to open a project and it started to download it normally. The error is still there but at least I can work with my Cloud project.
     
  44. Mordwyn

    Mordwyn

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue but it occurs while opening a project. The existing project opens in a blank state.

    Editor.log:
    [PathTracer][LP] Integrating deduplicated and tetrahedralized probes for hash <hash>.
    [CEF] undefined in file <path>/assets/unity-editor-home.js at line 39
    Error loading launcher://unity/C:/<path>/unity-editor-home/dist/index.html?code=<code>
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
  45. ravin5432

    ravin5432

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    This issue has nothing to do with the install of Unity or your OS. Its a dirty file in your Roaming folder. I think its Unity ending your login sessions faster then they did in the past. This was a bug back in a 4x ver of Unity.
    Back then, deleting the offending file was a fix for a few days. But honestly, just log out, then log back in. You will be good until you shut down Unity again.
     
    Zbad likes this.
  46. dzupin

    dzupin

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    For anybody wondering. Deleting AppData\Roaming\Unity\Packages makes no difference. Error will be still there.
    I am getting this error after fresh install of Unity 2017.1p3 (no upgrades, no old projects updates)
    I understand that this error is most likely benign error but it would be nice not to see error message every time I start a new session in Unity. Considering there seems to be no simple workaround I appreciate commitment to fix it in a next release.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017
  47. zigol01

    zigol01

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem too. The problem is i attach scripts, gameobjects etc. to something like On Click () in button. Unity Team pls repair this fast. :(((
     
  48. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    6,678
    @zigol01 How does this error affect OnClick() ? The error as described is benign, you can safely ignore it. We plan to fix it in the upcoming release.
     
  49. fufu77

    fufu77

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    When i tried to save my work, the editor freeze and the whole effort is gone when i restarted.
     
  50. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    6,678
    Is this a separate issue? This would not be due the the issue described here. Please open a new forum post if you could please.
     
unityunity