Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.2 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Error Launching the editor: The application path does not excist

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by srsuraj33, Jun 9, 2019.

  1. srsuraj33

    srsuraj33

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I downloaded the newest version of unity (i.e) Unity 2019.3.0a5 wit unity hub.
    But i cannot open or create any projects. And my hard disc is not external. WHY???? bandicam 2019-06-09 15-08-47-518.jpg
     
  2. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    334
    Hello there,

    Sorry for the inconvenience. Would you please report a bug that we can look into the log files?

    Best,
    Afshin
     
  3. Roman-Ilyin

    Roman-Ilyin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    I have same error.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Roman-Ilyin

    Roman-Ilyin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    My unity.exe was working as admin and this was causing the problem so I unchecked that admin permission and it opened.
     
    unity_vqO2gG7j37Ksmw and safaGH like this.
  5. AdrienVR

    AdrienVR

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    I had the same issue, I removed all my Unity installation references in the "Installs" tab of the Unity Hub, located the Unity.exe (which was simply here: "C:\Program Files\Unity\Editor\Unity.exe") and it fixed it.

    Was the first time I tried to create a new project with Unity 2019 through Unity Hub (since it seems there is no other way now...).
     
    MRMALAYJOSHI, Rigras, kaliz and 4 others like this.
  6. pakhtoon70

    pakhtoon70

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Try to remove all the available paths and then add through the locate option.
     
    MrToki and jaredrice17 like this.
  7. a094cb60-e058-4355-9bc5-b706f415bd20_DELETE

    a094cb60-e058-4355-9bc5-b706f415bd20_DELETE

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I also download unity and when create new project and get error in launching the editor. Why???
     
    unity_VmCBGdqq-DzO4w likes this.
  8. adamabbouatta

    adamabbouatta

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    i just opened it from unity, and not unity hub
     
  9. Koroll1

    Koroll1

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I have same error.
     
    theBannanaJS and raigallino0 like this.
  10. unity_vqO2gG7j37Ksmw

    unity_vqO2gG7j37Ksmw

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Yes unchecking the Run as Administrator worked for me as well. But I think if Unity Hub also runs with an admin permission then it shouldn't be an issue. Haven't checked though!
     
  11. electricsheep

    electricsheep

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    same problem. unity what's the problem? unity should be out of the box and not like that!
     
  12. dominic311dj

    dominic311dj

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Posts:
    1

    how do you do this
     
  13. Aarondixon912

    Aarondixon912

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    anyone know how to fix C:/Program Files/Unity/Editor/Data/Resources/Packages/package.json doesnt exist?
     
  14. H-Li

    H-Li

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    same here for mac
     
  15. GELMEL22624

    GELMEL22624

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    how did u do that
     
  16. sutalja

    sutalja

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I uninstalled unity to reinstall a clean version, only to find i had to now use the hub.

    i am having the issue described above and cannot begin a new project.
    Any help would be welcomed.

    thanks!

    Windows 10

    ***reinstalled january 2019 version and it's working fine now.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2020
  17. jirensama05

    jirensama05

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I have a similar problem which is when clicking on the create button nothing is appearing ... It's my first time using unity software please help
     
    Iron512 and sajidemran2018 like this.
  18. timmccune

    timmccune

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    I was having the same issue after Noting that My Unity versions were being installed in an undesired location. After uninstalling, then updating the Unity Editor folder(under gear icon), it actually installed but unity maintained a link to the previous installs. Here's how I fixed it:
    - Uninstall Unity Hub
    - Open file explorer and navigate to C:\Users\<Username>\AppData\Roaming and manually delete the Unity Hub directories.
    - Now install Unity Hub
    - Open Unity Hub and navigate to the installs panel and click the locate button.
    - Navigate to where the former version of Unity hub installed the unity version and select the Unity.exe file
    (Drive:\\Path\Version\Editor\Unity.exe obviously changing the Drive:\\Path\Version to proper values: IE: C:\Program Files\Unity\2018.4.22f1\Editor\Unity.exe)

    Not sure if this will fix your issue but it fixed mine. Sorry no fix suggestions for *nix OS
     
  19. zindine-b25

    zindine-b25

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    thanks it s work
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  20. PerijeeDev

    PerijeeDev

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I tried this; it just opened unity hub and closed Unity
     
  21. mgazillion

    mgazillion

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Same, however its literally not letting me do it at all
     
  22. beboashraf357

    beboashraf357

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    look i found a solution , you just need to open unity hub installation file and reinstall unity hub in the same folder of unity editor
     
    Goshadoe likes this.
  23. pubgmobilebedo

    pubgmobilebedo

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Guys, you have to run the unity hub as an administrator.
     
  24. TEPGamer

    TEPGamer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    how do i run unity hub as admin on mac
     
  25. Yizzyy

    Yizzyy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    i don't know either
     
  26. nazapato

    nazapato

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    In the new versions I believe the correc form of install is
    install the unity hub and then in the part of "installs" push clic and add the version of unity what you like
    I advice desinstall before your preview unity because unity hub make an other carpet an icons
    upload_2020-7-8_13-12-21.png
     
  27. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest


    Gracias, por la solución :) Me funcionó perfecto!!!
     
  28. MasterClick

    MasterClick

    Joined:
    May 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Just remove the old versions from the install tab in the Hub, it worked with me.
     
  29. JEEMSilver

    JEEMSilver

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Posts:
    2

    Thank you. It Worked
     
  30. mimasao12

    mimasao12

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    como assim ?
     
  31. GeometryDashMaster

    GeometryDashMaster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I found out a different way. go to the folder where the Unity version is and open it. Then open up the Unity folder and move The Unity inside there outside and replace the other one. When I tried opening the other one but it said it was damaged so thats why I had to replace it. Hope it helped someone
     
  32. MRMALAYJOSHI

    MRMALAYJOSHI

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    THANK YOU SO MUCH IT WORKED
     
  33. pepe_12

    pepe_12

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi friends, first of all, I found my solution. All you have to do is find your file with the 'unity editor path' and delete the editor in it and then create a file with the same name. but you will not install it, then you need to come to the editor installation area and click 'locate' and find the unity exe from the file location and extract it. You will not need to re-install it.
    How happy if my help has touched me
     
  34. Ali17X

    Ali17X

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Just remove all versions of unity in unity hub and locate your current version
     
  35. kwis

    kwis

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    GUYS I FOUND A SOLUTION REAL WORKING 100%
    1) UNINSTALL UNITY HUB
    2) DELETE THE FOLLOWING FILES: C:\Users\<Username>\AppData\Roaming and manually delete the Unity Hub directories.
    3) IF YOU RUN UNITY AS ADMIN GO TO PROPERTIES>COMPABILITIES>AND UNCHECK RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR
    4)THEN RE-INSTALL UNITY HUB
     
    toshislash and xxdokebixx like this.
  36. xxdokebixx

    xxdokebixx

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you so much... God bless you!
    I was stressing all day... Almost moved to Unreal Engine
     
    toshislash likes this.
  37. AKStudios911

    AKStudios911

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1








    Just remove any other unity versions. It will work for sure
     
  38. ahmedaniss

    ahmedaniss

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    62
    problem fixed here :
     
  39. yazilimadimlari

    yazilimadimlari

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    upload_2020-12-19_4-52-34.png
    Sürümler kurmama rağmen bu alan şuna benziyor
     
  40. Saltekai

    Saltekai

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1

    Worked for me bro! Thanks
     
  41. rblxtrickster

    rblxtrickster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hey i know how to fix it Worked for me so it should work for u too!
    Step 1: Go To Unity and Click on Editor there Scroll Down And Right-Click on "Run As Administrator" and press Yes when u see a Warning Pop Up now go to Projects And Press New Now Set Anything to Anything U Want And Press Yes or OK and u Can Basically Just Build Anything U Want lol It Worked For Me So It Should Also Work For You.
     
  42. Blueplays32

    Blueplays32

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Posts:
    1


    How do i delete the file? and how do i delete the hub directories?
     
unityunity