Search Unity

Question error CS0116 A namespace cannot directly contain members such as fields or methods

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by JustAGoodChair, Dec 6, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JustAGoodChair

    JustAGoodChair

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    Hi, I've recently ran into a CS0116 error after trying to fix my CS1038 error ive searched on youtube and cannot find a video telling me how i can fix this or a anything about it. Can anyone please tell me how i could fix this i can post the code if needed
     
  2. PraetorBlue

    PraetorBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7,909
    That error means you've put code in the wrong place. You have code floating outside of your class definition. The best place to start is with some basic C# tutorials and/or basic unity scripting tutorials to understand how to structure your code properly.

    Youtube is really not the best source for this kind of thing.
     
  3. JustAGoodChair

    JustAGoodChair

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    what would you recommend as a good source to learn some begginer c#
     
  4. JustAGoodChair

    JustAGoodChair

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    upload_2022-12-6_18-41-51.png
    where should i put my end region then? I've tried it under the } at the bottom as well and it still didn't work
     
  5. PraetorBlue

    PraetorBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7,909
  6. PraetorBlue

    PraetorBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7,909
    I wouldn't recommend using regions at all for now until you've mastered the basics. For example you seem to be missing a class definition entirely.
     
  7. JustAGoodChair

    JustAGoodChair

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    thats not all my codes its 80 lines total and i think it is defined
     
  8. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,742
    No, if it was then your code would work.

    Sounds like you have failed to follow the first step of doing tutorials.

    There's only two steps. Make sure you do them both!

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors, don't post here... just go fix your errors! Here's how:

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    Look in the documentation. Every API you attempt to use is probably documented somewhere. Are you using it correctly? Are you spelling it correctly?

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.
     
    JustAGoodChair likes this.
  9. JustAGoodChair

    JustAGoodChair

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    thanks
     
  10. BABIA_GameStudio

    BABIA_GameStudio

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2020
    Posts:
    497
    Please also stop posting screenshots of code. As I said in your other topic about your #region / #endregion, you should be following the forum guidelines and posting code in code tags.
    If you are still having the error with the namespace then post all the code in the scripts so that we can look at it (and do it in code tags, not screenshots).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.