Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Error: Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemb

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by iazlur2, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. iazlur2

    iazlur2

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Hello everyone, I tested everything today to fix that error:

    Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' failed

    Mirror asset got me the same error Temp/mirror.dll.

    Ive disabled my antivirus, reinstall unity, that error appear when compiling and follow unable to start by play in-editor function.

    Please help me, im going to lost hundred of work staff.

    Thanks
     
    wlwl2 and Jeanmilost like this.
  2. iazlur2

    iazlur2

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Solution:

    1. Download "Mirror" from asset.
    2. Replace all classic Networking component of all gameobjects/prefab by Mirror scripts component (networkmanager, networkidentity, networktransform, ....).
    3. In visual studio code at right on Solution references, search "hlapi" and remove all hlapi references.
    4. Replace all your "using UnityEditor.Networking" and "using UnityEditor.Networking.X" by "using Mirror;"
    5. :)
     
    mischa2k likes this.
  3. BernieRoehl

    BernieRoehl

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    80
    I had the same problem, and tried that solution. No luck... I still get

    Copying assembly from 'Temp/Mirror.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/Mirror.dll' failed
     
  4. BernieRoehl

    BernieRoehl

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    80
    ... and it turned out to be Dropbox. I paused syncing, and the problem went away.

    Leaving this note in case others encounter the same problem.
     
    Hoblum, eladolo and StanleyCreative like this.
  5. unity_4zerogr

    unity_4zerogr

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Copying assembly from 'Temp/Unity.Timeline.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.Timeline.dll' failed

    Copying assembly from 'Temp/Unity.TextMeshPro.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.TextMeshPro.dll' failed

    and missing package manager
    unity V2019.1.0f2

    I'm new to unity and before even started to use I encounter these errors, so ...
     
  6. RigoCL

    RigoCL

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Same problem here.

    Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' failed

    This is while downloading and installing "Post Processing" version 2.1.6 using Package manager in Unity 2019.1.0f2, this error prevents from using "PostProcessLayer"
     
  7. killerkpoke

    killerkpoke

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I got the same issue, after i done the TextMeshPro error. I just did the following :
    In Unity go to Window -> Package Manager, Find MultiPlayer HLAPI, then delete it, and reinstall.
    When i first tried i installed older version (1.0.0), then i uninstalled, and reinstalled the normal version.
    After i run the unity project normally and it worked.
    Hopefully helped.
     
  8. RikiKlein

    RikiKlein

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    17
    This worked for me. Thanks.
     
  9. unity_TNjVCL1wmrIMKw

    unity_TNjVCL1wmrIMKw

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I got the same issue, I just did the following :
    In Unity go to Window -> Package Manager, Find MultiPlayer HLAPI, then delete it, and reinstall.
    After i run the unity project normally and it worked.
    Hopefully helped.
     
    H_Ishfaq, wlwl2, JoshDW and 17 others like this.
  10. seb_krueger

    seb_krueger

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Posts:
    17
    I got a complete project in a local git repo and got the same issue (MultiPlayer HLAPI).
    Removing / installing ot from package manager did it for me.
     
    MagnusBoll likes this.
  11. MagnusBoll

    MagnusBoll

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Works for me as well. Thanks
     
  12. doidgem

    doidgem

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Unhappily in getting this error trying to reinstall SteamVR 2.3.2. after uninstall. Unity wont install 'Steam VR input' under windows. Out of ideas, suggestions?
     
  13. samra2494

    samra2494

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    , remove the file
    Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll
    and now build works again, once only. The file-removal procedure has to be repeated for every build
     
    Mercer137 likes this.
  14. sparanja

    sparanja

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same error occur to me. All i had to do was update the MultiPlayer HLAPI version to the latest and re-import the package I was trying to import. Go to Window --> Package Manager and find MultiPlayer HLAPI. Check the versions and update it to latest (worked in my case)
     
    mjamie and ixabhay like this.
  15. EmersonBastos

    EmersonBastos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    This some problem with my unity 2019.2.0f1, I fixed updating Multiplayer HLAPI 1.0.2 to 1.0.4 from Windows > Manage Packages.
     
    PPfeiffer34 likes this.
  16. susmitkdas

    susmitkdas

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same error
    Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' failed
     
  17. MacBodziak

    MacBodziak

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    What worked for me was to set Project Settings -> Player -> Api Compatibility Level to .NET 4.x
     
    NathanSDunn likes this.
  18. marcosabcarvalho

    marcosabcarvalho

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    That's ok! Working for me! Thank You...! I only update MultiPlayer HLAPI of 1.0.2 to 1.0.4 version.
     
  19. knightcube

    knightcube

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    I just removed it by going to Windows > Package Manager > MultiPlayer HLAPI > Remove and then installing it again. No idea why it works that way. It just does.
     
  20. AmirAslam

    AmirAslam

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    thanks for
     
  21. kostas-vs

    kostas-vs

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    For me, I had to delete "Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll", THEN uninstall & reinstall Multiplayer HLAPI from Package Manager. After that, the Build gave me a "Failed to create ScriptAssemblies directory", and after pressing "Try again", it worked and now works normally every time.
     
  22. susmitkdas

    susmitkdas

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    same
     
  23. tylershatch

    tylershatch

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Hoping this helps someone. This may be the most frustrating bug I have ever encountered in a development tool.

    This issue and variations on it have hard-blocked me, for over a month, from building one particular branch of our app (which required a newer version of Unity) on my own machine. I have been resorting to building it on another engineer's machine, which mysteriously did not experience this issue.

    Today I finally figured out the difference between our two machines. He had auto-refresh turned on in the Unity Editor preferences menu. I had it turned off.

    I turned it back on and the issue is now fully resolved.
     
  24. Codoet

    Codoet

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    I had cleaned solution in Visual studio and built it back. Then just restart unity and voila it's gone
     
  25. benblub

    benblub

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Works
     
  26. StanleyCreative

    StanleyCreative

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Yep, pause Dropbox syncing and restart Untiy fixed it for me.
     
  27. amarnaman

    amarnaman

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks killerpoke. Worked for me.
     
  28. NayanVR

    NayanVR

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    It's Worked For Me thank You
     
  29. rector96

    rector96

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Я русский и я столкнулся с этой проблемой тоже. Все выше перечисленные способы не работали. И тут меня озарило, что возможно виноваты русские буквы в пути проекта. И да, это они были виноваты. Возможно кому-то поможет на его языке тоже. Удачи!

    I am Russian and I ran into this problem too. All of the above methods did not work. And then it dawned on me that maybe the Russian letters are to blame in the path of the project. And yes, they were to blame. Perhaps someone will help in his language too. Good luck
     
    Eco-Editor likes this.
  30. ppartida

    ppartida

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    This worked for me, didn't need to delete, just updated to the latest version. (from 1.0.2 to 1.0.4)
     
  31. bronek13

    bronek13

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Had the same problem, migrated from older unity to 2019 and the same error
    Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' failed
    What I did, was find in Project, Packages, Multiplayer HLAPI, right-clicked and clicked reimport and no error :D
     
  32. salmanhayat16

    salmanhayat16

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    ii just updated that packages which resolved my issue....thanks man
     
  33. eagleeyez

    eagleeyez

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    406
    my God, had a problem with this too in another tool, Unity 2d extras from github. I did not have dropbox by I had OneDrive. I disabled one drive and the dam thing imported corectly into Unity.

    Thanks very much for this tip. I would never have come up with such an idea.
     
  34. Eco-Editor

    Eco-Editor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Posts:
    71
    Helped me too, needed to only restart the project afterwards.
     
    juliomontano008 likes this.
  35. phalbano

    phalbano

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    This worked like magic, THANK YOU
     
  36. realgamingart

    realgamingart

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    The things are working but you have to keep in mind if the things are not working then you need to just restart the project/Game/App.
    The problem was also in my ad so I just remove and reinstall advertisement in package manners then the things started to work. I hope it will work for you.
     
  37. mohammedghabyen

    mohammedghabyen

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    Updating Multiplayer HLAPI from packages manager to last version solved the problem for me.
     
  38. omanuke

    omanuke

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    I encountered same issue. I removed MultiPlayerHLAPI from Package Manager , then I can play in the editor.
     
    Mugheed_Ashraf likes this.
  39. yashc2025

    yashc2025

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    I had the same issue .
    Uninstalling Multiplayer HLAPI from Package Manger and installing it again worked for me.
    Thanks
     
  40. Marmofeels

    Marmofeels

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Unity could very easily solve this by adding a simple "try again" button to the error message, but I doubt they ever will
     
  41. retrobullet

    retrobullet

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    i could click the " UPDATE" option in packages multiplayer hlpi and it worked also for me
     
  42. desijugad

    desijugad

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    100% Solver issue, in just one minute follow these steps go to unity -> windows -> package manager -> and -> multiplayer hlpi -> then click remove, and then after remove, click install,
    then go to console tab in bottom and click clear, your error gone. just visit my site at one if you like my solution https://fresherskey.com/
     
  43. H_Ishfaq

    H_Ishfaq

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    ---- worked for me . Thanks
     
  44. Wrakyz

    Wrakyz

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Posts:
    12
    Try to restart unity, because it's sometimes unity hanging for some reason and need to refresh the scripts assembly etc...
     
  45. akshaykumarpujar

    akshaykumarpujar

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks it worked for me as well
     
  46. ag931447

    ag931447

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2022
    Posts:
    1


    teimakasih karena solusi diatas menyelesaikan masalah saya.