Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Multiplayer Error: Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemb

Discussion in 'Connected Games' started by iazlur2, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. iazlur2

    iazlur2

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Hello everyone, I tested everything today to fix that error:

    Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' failed

    Mirror asset got me the same error Temp/mirror.dll.

    Ive disabled my antivirus, reinstall unity, that error appear when compiling and follow unable to start by play in-editor function.

    Please help me, im going to lost hundred of work staff.

    Thanks
     
  2. iazlur2

    iazlur2

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Solution:

    1. Download "Mirror" from asset.
    2. Replace all classic Networking component of all gameobjects/prefab by Mirror scripts component (networkmanager, networkidentity, networktransform, ....).
    3. In visual studio code at right on Solution references, search "hlapi" and remove all hlapi references.
    4. Replace all your "using UnityEditor.Networking" and "using UnityEditor.Networking.X" by "using Mirror;"
    5. :)
     
    vis2k likes this.
  3. BernieRoehl

    BernieRoehl

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    66
    I had the same problem, and tried that solution. No luck... I still get

    Copying assembly from 'Temp/Mirror.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/Mirror.dll' failed
     
  4. BernieRoehl

    BernieRoehl

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    66
    ... and it turned out to be Dropbox. I paused syncing, and the problem went away.

    Leaving this note in case others encounter the same problem.
     
  5. unity_4zerogr

    unity_4zerogr

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Copying assembly from 'Temp/Unity.Timeline.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.Timeline.dll' failed

    Copying assembly from 'Temp/Unity.TextMeshPro.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.TextMeshPro.dll' failed

    and missing package manager
    unity V2019.1.0f2

    I'm new to unity and before even started to use I encounter these errors, so ...
     
  6. RigoCL

    RigoCL

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Same problem here.

    Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' failed

    This is while downloading and installing "Post Processing" version 2.1.6 using Package manager in Unity 2019.1.0f2, this error prevents from using "PostProcessLayer"
     
  7. killerkpoke

    killerkpoke

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I got the same issue, after i done the TextMeshPro error. I just did the following :
    In Unity go to Window -> Package Manager, Find MultiPlayer HLAPI, then delete it, and reinstall.
    When i first tried i installed older version (1.0.0), then i uninstalled, and reinstalled the normal version.
    After i run the unity project normally and it worked.
    Hopefully helped.
     
    tutmo, dudaluzzi, bruceweir1 and 9 others like this.
  8. RikiKlein

    RikiKlein

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    This worked for me. Thanks.
     
  9. unity_TNjVCL1wmrIMKw

    unity_TNjVCL1wmrIMKw

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I got the same issue, I just did the following :
    In Unity go to Window -> Package Manager, Find MultiPlayer HLAPI, then delete it, and reinstall.
    After i run the unity project normally and it worked.
    Hopefully helped.
     
    Liormax, vjrybyk, Bloodberet and 7 others like this.
  10. seb_krueger

    seb_krueger

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Posts:
    17
    I got a complete project in a local git repo and got the same issue (MultiPlayer HLAPI).
    Removing / installing ot from package manager did it for me.
     
    MagnusBoll likes this.
  11. MagnusBoll

    MagnusBoll

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Works for me as well. Thanks
     
  12. doidgem

    doidgem

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Unhappily in getting this error trying to reinstall SteamVR 2.3.2. after uninstall. Unity wont install 'Steam VR input' under windows. Out of ideas, suggestions?
     
  13. samra2494

    samra2494

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    , remove the file
    Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll
    and now build works again, once only. The file-removal procedure has to be repeated for every build
     
    Mercer137 likes this.
  14. sparanja

    sparanja

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same error occur to me. All i had to do was update the MultiPlayer HLAPI version to the latest and re-import the package I was trying to import. Go to Window --> Package Manager and find MultiPlayer HLAPI. Check the versions and update it to latest (worked in my case)
     
    ixabhay likes this.
  15. EmersonBastos

    EmersonBastos

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    This some problem with my unity 2019.2.0f1, I fixed updating Multiplayer HLAPI 1.0.2 to 1.0.4 from Windows > Manage Packages.
     
    PPfeiffer34 likes this.
  16. susmitkdas

    susmitkdas

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same error
    Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' failed
     
  17. MacBodziak

    MacBodziak

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    What worked for me was to set Project Settings -> Player -> Api Compatibility Level to .NET 4.x
     
  18. marcosabcarvalho

    marcosabcarvalho

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    That's ok! Working for me! Thank You...! I only update MultiPlayer HLAPI of 1.0.2 to 1.0.4 version.
     
  19. knightcube

    knightcube

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I just removed it by going to Windows > Package Manager > MultiPlayer HLAPI > Remove and then installing it again. No idea why it works that way. It just does.
     
  20. AmirAslam

    AmirAslam

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    thanks for
     
  21. kostas-vs

    kostas-vs

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    For me, I had to delete "Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll", THEN uninstall & reinstall Multiplayer HLAPI from Package Manager. After that, the Build gave me a "Failed to create ScriptAssemblies directory", and after pressing "Try again", it worked and now works normally every time.
     
  22. susmitkdas

    susmitkdas

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    same
     
  23. tylershatch

    tylershatch

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Hoping this helps someone. This may be the most frustrating bug I have ever encountered in a development tool.

    This issue and variations on it have hard-blocked me, for over a month, from building one particular branch of our app (which required a newer version of Unity) on my own machine. I have been resorting to building it on another engineer's machine, which mysteriously did not experience this issue.

    Today I finally figured out the difference between our two machines. He had auto-refresh turned on in the Unity Editor preferences menu. I had it turned off.

    I turned it back on and the issue is now fully resolved.
     
  24. Codoet

    Codoet

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    I had cleaned solution in Visual studio and built it back. Then just restart unity and voila it's gone