Search Unity

Error: Assets\Scripts\Movement.cs(24,79): error CS1002: ; expected

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by pedroarnos206, Apr 23, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pedroarnos206

    pedroarnos206

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;

    public class Movement : MonoBehaviour
    {
    private Rigidbody2D Rigidbody2D;
    private float Horizontal;

    // Start is called before the first frame update
    void Start()
    {
    Rigidbody2D = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>();
    }

    // Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {
    float Horizontal = Input.GetAxisRaw("Horizontal");
    }

    private void FixedUpdate()
    {
    Rigidbody2D.velocity = new Vector2(Horizontal, Rigidbody2D.velocity.y)
    }
    }
     
  2. GroZZleR

    GroZZleR

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    3,201
    Come on now, it even tells you the exact line the syntax error is on. Going to have to apply a lot of problem solving skills in gamedev.
     
    Sphinks likes this.
  3. Johan_Liebert123

    Johan_Liebert123

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2021
    Posts:
    474
    Make sure you also use code brackets to make it easier to read, when you see the error, read it. It will tell you what line, where in the line and what the error is!
     
  4. Gregorio983

    Gregorio983

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    It tells me: Assets\Scripts\GameController.cs(24,60): error CS1002: ; expected

    Why???

    My script:
    using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;

    public class GameController : MonoBehaviour
    {
    float spawnTimer;
    float spawnRate = 3f;
    public GameObject tubo;
    // Start is called before the first frame update
    void Start()
    {

    }

    // Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {
    spawnTimer -= Time.deltaTime;
    if(spawnTimer >= spawnRate)
    {
    spawnTimer -= spawnRate;
    Vector2 spawnPos = new Vector2(2f, Random.Range(-1f, 2f));
    Istantiate(tubo, spawnPos, Quaternion.identity)
    }
    }

    }
     
    BrenLuna likes this.
  5. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,745
    Because your typing accuracy is horrible. You must type PERFECTLY.

    You can fix your own typing mistakes all by yourself. Here is how:

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors... go back to the top of this post and FIX THEM.
     
    Sphinks likes this.
  6. Gregorio983

    Gregorio983

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    ok bro but what i need to change i know i need to learn c# for continue but i need that. Then i'm gonna learn all the tutorial of scripting in this world.
     
  7. RadRedPanda

    RadRedPanda

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    1,648
    The error quite literally, says it's expecting a ; in your code on line 24. After you fix that, it's going to give you another error, and that's because you spelled something wrong in the exact same line.
     
    Sphinks likes this.
  8. Gregorio983

    Gregorio983

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    thank you, now i have a problem on the word istantiate it tells me that doesn't exist in the current context but i did all like the video
     
  9. RadRedPanda

    RadRedPanda

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    1,648
    I already told you exactly what the error was
     
    mopthrow likes this.
  10. Gregorio983

    Gregorio983

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    yeah but i spelled that good, i don't know where is the problem. I writed the ; in the script and it's okay but it tells me that istantiate is not in the context
     
  11. Sphinks

    Sphinks

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2019
    Posts:
    267
    Because it´s not spelled correct, so it doesn´t exist
     
  12. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,745
    This is not a word. Go look up how to instantiate something. You don't "istantiate" it, you instantiate it.

    Every... single... letter... must... be... PERFECT.
     
  13. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Calm down :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.