Search Unity

Bug Error after adding in Unity Netcode package to Unity 2022.3 LTS

Discussion in 'NetCode for ECS' started by Pilltech101, May 31, 2023.

  1. Pilltech101

    Pilltech101

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    I got this error both when upgrading my project to 2022.3 LTS and the same after starting a bran new project. As Soon as I import the Netcode Package the project errors out:

    Error :

    Library\PackageCache\com.unity.logging@1.0.10\Runtime\Sinks\UnityEditorConsoleSink.cs(9,30): error CS0234: The type or namespace name 'UTF8StringView' does not exist in the namespace 'UnityEngine' (are you missing an assembly reference?)

    I know it has something to do with the logging package but I am not sure on how to fix this.
     
  2. CMarastoni

    CMarastoni

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    Posts:
    895
    yes, is a known issue. please don't update yet to 2022.3.
    A fix is coming out soon to address that issue.

    In case you want to, please internalise the logging package and change the logging.asmdef and logging.tests.asmdef as follow:

    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2.         {
    3.              "name": "Unity",
    4.             "expression": "2022.3.0a1", <---- previous value
    5.              "expression": "2023.1.0a1", <--- new value
    6.              "define": "UNITY_HAS_UTF8_VIEW"
    7.          }
    8.  
     
    Pilltech101 and Rukhanka like this.
  3. Pilltech101

    Pilltech101

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    Thank you !!!! I thought I was going crazy
     
  4. Ravoltz

    Ravoltz

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Ran into this as well. In the meantime you can apply the following workaround:
    1. Close Unity
    2. Copy the folder <ProjectDir>\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.logging@1.0.10 to <ProjectDir>\Packages\com.unity.logging
    3. Edit <ProjectDir>\Packages\com.unity.logging\Runtime\Unity.Logging.asmdef and on line 23 change "2022.3.0a1" to "2023.2.0a1"
    4. Reopen your Unity project
    Edit: 1 min too late
     
    Pilltech101 likes this.
  5. Pilltech101

    Pilltech101

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Posts:
    35
    lol thanks tho
     
  6. CMarastoni

    CMarastoni

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    Posts:
    895
    A new logging package has been released yesterday that should work without modification.

    However, it is necessary to update the dependency via PackageManager and/or modifying your project Packages/Manifest.

    Please update the com.unity,logging package to 1.0.11. A new release of Netcode will be available soon that will have the right dependency setup without need to update that,

    Sorry for the inconvenient issue.
     
  7. khowell1

    khowell1

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks. This worked for my project with the same OP issue.
     
    Stolzenberg likes this.
  8. spilat12

    spilat12

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    38
    Updating 'netcode for entities' package to the latest version solved this for me....