Search Unity

Environment Lighting source keeps resetting

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by FuzzyLuke, Aug 2, 2018.

  1. FuzzyLuke

    FuzzyLuke

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Posts:
    40
    Hello.

    After upgrading to unity 2018.2 last week I started running into this issue where I'll be working on something else, say, an animation or some prefab editing and suddenly the Source setting for Environment Lighting resets to the null value (empty) and I have to manually set it back to "Color".

    When reset occurs, my entire scene becomes very dark as a result.

    I do not have these issues transitioning between scenes and my auto-generate lighting setting is off, it only happens when I'm actually working on the game while the game isn't running.

    It seems to occur more often when I'm working on animation events that I imported from blender. Sometimes just adding an event or switching animations before even hitting "apply" is enough to cause the error.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. messia_stas

    messia_stas

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same issue, it happens frequently, sometimes even after reloading scene in play mode (but usually when I'm working witch code in VS). My current Unity version is 2018.2.7f1, but I had the same problem on previous 2018.2 builds
     

    Attached Files:

  3. alexandre-chambriat

    alexandre-chambriat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    16
    Same problem using 2018.2.9f1, reset each time I press on play button, annoying.
     
  4. MaxSamarin

    MaxSamarin

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Same issue. Happens every time I add an event in an imported animation from Blender. 2018.2.8f1
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2018
  5. alexandre-chambriat

    alexandre-chambriat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    16
    My issue was I'm using HDRP, it takes over the settings its not a bug.
     
  6. ader42

    ader42

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    I get this quite a lot with 2017.4, it's a real pain. For me, it affects when the game is running and in the editor.
     
  7. magg

    magg

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    Happens for me as well when working with certain mecanim animations. Very annoying. (2018.2.1f1 -- but I had this issue forever now)
     
  8. hanks234

    hanks234

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Lighting Going Dark

    This issue might be a bit similar to yours so maybe the steps in here can help as well.
    When using Application.LoadLevel() to reset a scene it caused the lighting to change dramtically during second load and this happens in the preview window in the editor.
    using these steps, it was corrected thou

    Navigate to Window > Lighting > Settings > then uncheck the box for “Auto Generate” close to the bottom of the window

    Take note that if you want to make any changes to your lights or even add more lights, you will have to ‘bake’ the lightmap again. So just go back to Window >Lighting >Settings and press "Generate Lighting” to bake the lighting once manually.
     
  9. Riderfan

    Riderfan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Posts:
    480
    Yes, this happens to me all the time. I've reported the bug but the only reply I get is "please send us a reproduction project".