Search Unity

EntityManager.GetComponentData performance

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by CaranElmoth, Sep 18, 2019.

1. CaranElmoth

CaranElmoth

Hello everyone,
    I'm a veteran Unity programmer and I'm moving my first steps with DOTS. I'm really enthusiastic so far.
    I'm building a very small project, trying to devise some patterns and best practices.
    I'm sorry if this has already been answered, but I searched for a while and can't seem to find an adequate answer.
    What I'm trying to figure out now, is the best way to synchronize GameObject components that are not yet translated into full dots, like sprites and tiles, for example, with entities that represent their status. My central question is:

How is EntityManager.GetComponentData performance wise? Is it feasible to use it in a GameObject's Update to poll the underlying ecs status and update the GameObject accordingly?

Some context:
    I have a System that, based on a component data authored via gameobject conversion in the inspector, generates a maze with backtracking.
    It then generates and caches a NativeArray of entities that represent tiles to visualize the maze.
    Next I have a script attached to a TileMap in the inspector that fetches the generator system with the NativeArray of entities and uses it to setup the actual tiles to visualize.
    So far so good.
    Now, the tiles alpha channel has to change according to some tile component data that's managed by other ecs systems. What I'd like to do is, in the TileMap Update method, to use EntityManager.GetComponentData to fetch all the tiles statuses, check for changes and update the actual tiles in the TileMap.
    If there's a better way to achieve this, I'll be happy to know, of course.

Thank you all for any help.

2. DreamingImLatios

DreamingImLatios

The best thing to do is write a test and profile it and find out if it is good enough for your game's needs.