Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Endless Cylinder Tunnel

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by gregmax17, Jan 24, 2011.

1. gregmax17

gregmax17

I am trying to accomplish a endless cylinder tunnel, for example (the 2nd image) :

http://www.orgoquest.com/unitytest/temp.html

How is this accomplished with Unity? PLEASE be specific in details... this is my first try at Unity.

Thank you in advance!

2. ivkoni

ivkoni

there is a tunnel runner examlpe in the iphone projects. Don't remember if it was endless. Check it out.
    Here are 2 approaches that would consider:
    1. build some tunnel parts: straight, turns, etc... and then just alternate them randomly. Say have 5 tunnel parts (as far as the player can see) and as you get out of a tunnel part remove it and add a new one. That way you control the polycount.
    2. build the tunnel with the mesh class.
    Lastly, you can combine both approaches, I guess. Build parts of the tunnel with the mesh class and combine them with the first approach.

3. gregmax17

gregmax17

I can't look at the example because I am on Windows.

I like the idea of building parts and connecting them... it will add more programming.

What is a mesh? Does this also the model/prefeb to be flexible?

4. ivkoni

ivkoni

you can look it even though you are on windows. It won't play most likely but you can still look at the scripts.
    a mesh is 3d model. (vertices, triangles, normals, colors, uvs...) In Unity you can build meshes on the fly using the Mesh class.
    There are examples of these here