Search Unity

Ending a Game

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Velketor, Oct 23, 2007.

1. Velketor

Velketor

Hello,

I am still pretty new to scripting and I was wondering if anyone could explain to me how to END a game...

At the moment, I am under the impression that whenever the player gets X amount of points (or whatever your goal is) a "Winner" screen will pop up...

How do I go about creating such a scenario? Any information is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

-Velk

2. AaronC

AaronC

What I did for an game ending is as follows. Basically two types of enemy were obliterated, and a few other things went down:
    Code (csharp):
    1. var SubShadow: GameObject;
    2. var Sub: GameObject;
    3. var Manager: GameObject;
    4. var EndGui: GameObject;
    5. var newObject : Transform;
    7. function Update(){
    8.   var enemies1 = GameObject.FindGameObjectsWithTag("SubBase");
    9.   var enemies = GameObject.FindGameObjectsWithTag("Enemy");
    10.   if (enemies.Length <= 0  enemies1.Length <= 0)
    11.   {     EndGui.active=true;
    12.            Debug.Log("No more baddies");
    14.     Instantiate(newObject, transform.position, transform.rotation);
    15. Destroy(Manager);
    16.         Destroy(Sub);
    17.             Destroy(SubShadow);
    18.          Destroy(gameObject);
    19.   }
    20. }
    The Sub was my "Player" ie what the player was controlling/shooting from in the scene. The Manager was something with scripts on it, I destroy it so as not to get null references leading to errors and therefore problems. End gui is a GUI texture with congratulations or whatever written on it, and newObject was just a game object with a script to load the initial start screen again.