Search Unity

Question Encountered problem while doing Ruby's Adventures 2D Tutorial

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Fruchu, Mar 26, 2021.

1. Fruchu

Fruchu

Hi, couple days ago I started learning Unity and currently I'm doing the Ruby's Adventure 2D Begginer tutorial while I stumbled onto this problem.

In World Design - Tilemaps part tutorial tells me to:

1. In the Project window, go to Assets > Art.
    2. Right-click within the folder and select Create > Folder. Call your new folder “Tiles”.
    3. Double-click Tiles to open the folder.
    4. Right-click within the folder and select Create > Tile. In the dialog box, call this Tile “FirstTile” and save it.
    Although when I want to do that there is no tile element available on the list to select.
    Here's how it looks on my end:

I'm using latest version of Unity 2020.3.1f1 could that be the problem ?

2. vendaar

vendaar

sharpree89 likes this.
  3. Fruchu

Fruchu

Thanks man. It's weird that this tutorial says it's been updated in March 2021 yet they use instructions from earlier version of the editor regarding adding working with Tiles. I guess I will report that in feedback at the end.

Tweakabell likes this.
  4. Ahhhrealxombies

Ahhhrealxombies

noticed the same thing Fruchu

5. wonznzeros

wonznzeros

so whats the work around im still confused with the same issue lol

6. RichAllen2023

RichAllen2023

I started this one last night, using the 2019 version.

Managed the first page of the tutorial just fine, and then the bloomin' script didn't work.

7. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

Please define "didn't work". You know how to post here using code tags and describing the issue, you've helped others similarly!

8. halfevil666

halfevil666

9. Zaerick

Zaerick