Search Unity

Help Wanted Encountered problem while doing Ruby's Adventures 2D Tutorial

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Fruchu, Mar 26, 2021.

  1. Fruchu

    Fruchu

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, couple days ago I started learning Unity and currently I'm doing the Ruby's Adventure 2D Begginer tutorial while I stumbled onto this problem.

    In World Design - Tilemaps part tutorial tells me to:

    1. In the Project window, go to Assets > Art.
    2. Right-click within the folder and select Create > Folder. Call your new folder “Tiles”.
    3. Double-click Tiles to open the folder.
    4. Right-click within the folder and select Create > Tile. In the dialog box, call this Tile “FirstTile” and save it.
    Although when I want to do that there is no tile element available on the list to select.
    Here's how it looks on my end:


    I'm using latest version of Unity 2020.3.1f1 could that be the problem ?
     
  2. vendaar

    vendaar

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Posts:
    37
     
  3. Fruchu

    Fruchu

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks man. It's weird that this tutorial says it's been updated in March 2021 yet they use instructions from earlier version of the editor regarding adding working with Tiles. I guess I will report that in feedback at the end.
     
  4. Ahhhrealxombies

    Ahhhrealxombies

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    noticed the same thing Fruchu
     
  5. wonznzeros

    wonznzeros

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    so whats the work around im still confused with the same issue lol
     
  6. RichAllen2021

    RichAllen2021

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Posts:
    393
    I started this one last night, using the 2019 version.

    Managed the first page of the tutorial just fine, and then the bloomin' script didn't work.
     
  7. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    11,685
    Please define "didn't work". You know how to post here using code tags and describing the issue, you've helped others similarly!
     
unityunity