Search Unity

Enable Playmode Tests for All Assemblies option missing

Discussion in 'Testing & Automation' started by KaPow1, Mar 19, 2021.

1. KaPow1

KaPow1

I'm fairly new to unit testing but am trying to write a new playmode test. I'm working in a large codebase that hasn't been using assembly definitions up to this point, and we don't want to introduce assembly definitions at this time.

I understand that you should be able to run playmode tests on all assemblies (I assume even Assembly-CSharp) if you "enable playmode tests for all assemblies". In the manual on playmode tests it mentions enabling tests for all assemblies by opening the context menu in Test Runner (see below)

https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/c...1.0/manual/workflow-create-playmode-test.html

However, I can't find the same command in my Test Runner's context menu (see below). Is this a glitch/bug with unity? I haven't been able to find much online.

upload_2021-3-19_15-16-21.png

Thanks!

fnnbrr, dan_ginovker and shochet like this.
  2. seanbiganski

seanbiganski

Did you solve this? I'm experiencing the same.

3. KaPow1

KaPow1

No, I ended up using assembly definitions and was never able to get the option to show up

4. unity_VenomGameStudio

unity_VenomGameStudio

Did anyone solve this issue yet?

5. Baste

Baste

In later versions (as specified in the docs), you have to open the projectsettings.asset file and set "playModeTestRunnerEnabled:" to 1

6. huulong

huulong

That seems to be explained on https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/c...1.1/manual/workflow-create-playmode-test.html indeed, but in 2021 the behaviour is different:

- Setting the flag manually in ProjectSettings.asset will only result in a popup saying "Disable playmode tests for all assemblies - You must restart the editor now."