Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Empty project doesn't compile - Stevedore lib errors

Discussion in '2022.1 Beta' started by Un4GivNX, Dec 7, 2021.

  1. Un4GivNX

    Un4GivNX

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Unity 2022.1.0a16.2319 + Windows Build Support.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Building Library\Bee\artifacts\Stevedore\win10sdk_432e\.StevedoreVersion failed with output:
    2. Downloading: http://stevedore.hq.unity3d.com/r/unity-internal/win10sdk/10.0.19041.0_432eda87d99f6529b15f0d635af568b0301f04d5b34153d67dccb8389a18f578.7z (/A).
    3. stevedore: 2021-12-07 11:59:58 - Failed to download (network error): http://stevedore.hq.unity3d.com/r/unity-internal/win10sdk/10.0.19041.0_432eda87d99f6529b15f0d635af568b0301f04d5b34153d67dccb8389a18f578.7z
    4. Le nom distant n'a pas pu etre resolu: 'stevedore.hq.unity3d.com'
    5. This server is for Unity employees only. Are you on the Unity network/VPN?
    6.    HttpRequestException: Une erreur s'est produite lors de l'envoi de la demande.
    7.    WebException: Le nom distant n'a pas pu etre resolu: 'stevedore.hq.unity3d.com'
    8. (Telemetry reference: /A)
    9. UnityEditor.GenericMenu:CatchMenu (object,string[],int)
     
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Are you just exporting your project to Windows?
     
  3. Un4GivNX

    Un4GivNX

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    Yes. From Build Settings, I select PC, then Build (Clean Build) and it fails with the error above. I tried switching API compatibility level from .NET Standard 2.1 <--> .NET Framework but the error didn't change. It does build successfully if I choose Mono scripting backend though.
     
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    I think we identified the bug and what's happening here. We require Windows SDK when building for Windows using IL2CPP. I suspect that if the SDK isn't installed on your machine, we accidentally fallback to internal downloader code path instead of printing an error.

    Could you try installing Windows SDK from https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/downloads/windows-sdk/?
     
    Un4GivNX likes this.
  5. Un4GivNX

    Un4GivNX

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    That was it! After installing Windows SDK, it works like a charm. Thank you for your help! :)

    edit: Would it be nice to expose this requirement as a module or "something" when selecting the windows platform / il2cpp when installing unity from the unity hub?
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2021
  6. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    It should get installed with Visual Studio if you select it in the hub installer.
     
  7. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,361
    Pretty sure it does as well but if one has VS already preinstalled, it's easy to miss.

    This is more of a case where we'd love to get nicer error messages from Unity's side.
     
  8. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    The intended error message text is this:

    Code (csharp):
    1. IL2CPP C++ code builder is unable to build C++ code. In order to build C++ code for Windows Desktop, you must have one of these installed:
    2.  * Visual Studio 2019 or newer with C++ compilers and Windows 10 SDK (recommended)
    3.  * Visual Studio 2017 with C++ compilers and Windows 10 SDK
    4.  * Visual Studio 2015 with C++ compilers and Windows 10 SDK
    5.  
    6. Visual Studio 2017 (or newer) is detected using `vswhere.exe` as well as VSCOMNTOOLS environment variables.
    7. Visual Studio 2015 is detected by looking at "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VisualStudio\14.0_Config\InstallDir" in the registry as well as VSCOMNTOOLS environment variables.
    8. Windows 10 SDK is detected by looking at "SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v10.0\InstallationFolder" in the registry.
    9.  
    10. Unable to detect any compatible Visual Studio installation!
    11.  * Found Visual Studio 2017 installation without C++ tool components
    12.  * Found Visual Studio 2013 installation which doesn't match the minimum requirement of Visual Studio 2015
    13. * Found Visual Studio 2012 installation which doesn't match the minimum requirement of Visual Studio 2015
    14.  * Found Visual Studio 2010 installation which doesn't match the minimum requirement of Visual Studio 2015
    15.  
    16. Windows 10 SDK is not installed. You can install from here: https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/downloads/windows-10-sdk/
    Except due to a bug it was not printed.
     
    rz_0lento likes this.