Search Unity

Bug Empty error in console

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by wilson271117, Dec 17, 2017.

  1. wilson271117

    wilson271117

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hi guys,

    I recently installed Unity Linux 2017.3.0f1 and when I added a new C# script I get an empty error in the console. I won't be able to run it in Unity as it will show an error (refer to attached image). Non of the solution offered in the forum work, .e.g., changing the locale to english US.

    I'm able to use both MonoDevelop and VS code with all updates from the best I can get from the internet.

    I'm running Debian 9. When people say fresh install, what does that entail? rm -r <folder> ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    2,359
    While you wait for the bug to be fixed, try double clicking on the empty error message in the console. Doing this should open MonoDevelop or VS on the line that contains the error. Once you've spotted the error, you should be able to fix it and use the script. ;)
     
  3. wilson271117

    wilson271117

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I tried double clicking on it. Nothing happens. If I remove all scripts, the empty console error goes away.

    The error exist by simply:
    1. Start a new project (either 3D or 2D, tried both)
    2. Create a new C# script with any legit name
    3. Empty console error appears
    4. Been troubleshooting for days now
    5. Guess I have to fork out for a Windows laptop. Current system is >5 years old (hence running linux).
     
  4. 2dgame

    2dgame

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    I have the same issue. Create new project. Create a script. Empty Error message in console that can't be cleared.
    Linux Mint 18.3 with Unity 2017.3
     
    leshchenkoruua likes this.
  5. danz_the_deadly

    danz_the_deadly

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, I have this as well.

    I am using Linux Mint 18.3 and latest unity3d release.
    Unity works fine until I start using scripts.
    There is always empty error that can't be removed. I tried checking for mistakes in script, then just create a new script.
    Also I've tried downloaded monodevelop, sublime text 3 as script editor.
    Every time it is the same: the script does not compile with empty error.
    Example project does not work as well.

    It also says "No MonoBehaviour scripts in the file..." etc, despite the file being just created.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2018
  6. danz_the_deadly

    danz_the_deadly

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    It may sound very stupid, but the problem disappeared when I installed mono-complete package.
    Probably unity's internal compiler doesn't work or smth.
     
    metalbound likes this.
  7. metalbound

    metalbound

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Greetings everybody. I have to say that i experience exactly the same problem as the user @danz_the_deadly (and all other above him). I get empty compiler errors already when creating a default script file with unity. I am currently working on a unity course where also all the projects coming from the previous version do not compile and run.
    Could this be related to a missing MonoDevelop install? I am currently using vim as a simple code editor. Do i need to point unity to a C# compiler or is it usually bundled with it?
     
  8. Darkowic

    Darkowic

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    wenderRondonia likes this.
  9. unity_YALXb_cuBIkeRg

    unity_YALXb_cuBIkeRg

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello friends...!!
    We could solve the problem by running the following command in the terminal:
    $ sudo apt-get install monodevelop mono-reference-assemblies-*
    which will install all the required dependencies to run Unity3d properly...in Linux Mint 18.3 KDE
    I did it last night...!! and it works for my system...
    for more information visit:
    https://medium.com/@felladrin/installing-and-running-unity3d-on-linux-mint-e9aa76a11d63

    Enjoy...!!!
     
  10. neonbulbs80

    neonbulbs80

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Hi everyone!

    I've had the same issues. However I'm running it under Fedora 27. Installing mono-complete and referenceassemblies-pcl did not work as well. Have anyone here ever properly run Unity 2017 on Fedora 27? It would be great to share the workaround for this issue.

    Here is my full log :
     
  11. wenderRondonia

    wenderRondonia

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Posts:
    25
  12. closethedamndooralready

    closethedamndooralready

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I was wrestling with the same issue half day. If you installed your build from the new Download Assistant definitely make sure you have necessary dependencies.
     
  13. leshchenkoruua

    leshchenkoruua

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    wenderRondonia likes this.
  14. DagasonHackason

    DagasonHackason

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    have the same problem but am running windows... if it was linux i could have just installed the dependencies any help?
     
  15. deistali

    deistali

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem But On Windows Please Solve This One
     
  16. Ladis_Codi

    Ladis_Codi

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same error in Windows too :-(
     
  17. Ducat

    Ducat

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Hey guys. I have the same problem in Windows.
    And i figured out - this have some kind of connection with chosen C# version.
    I have this problem with 4.x version, while 3,5.x - ok
    Go to BuildSettings/ProjectSettings/OtherSettings/ScriptingRuntimeVersion and change it
    Hope this'll help
     
    hitechnt likes this.
  18. undefined666

    undefined666

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    Could you specify where these folders are?I searched whole hdd with mask ScriptingRuntimeVersion - no luck
     
  19. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    2,359
    Build Settings, in editor, the build settings you choose when you want to... build your game; it's not a folder. :)
     
  20. undefined666

    undefined666

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    Thanks found it.Indeed the problem goes away with 3.5.But what if my project relies on 4.x features?
     
  21. andreim44

    andreim44

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Hi, I found a solution to this bug on windows that does not require downgrading to .Net 3.5 (which appears to be deprecated now).
    I don't know the exact component, but installing the entire Microsfot .NET desktop development suite seems to have fixed the issue. If someone wants to narrow down the component that would be nice, but what I can vouch for is installing the entire package, and then you can safely use .NET 4.x without the empty errors.
     
    TitanX603 likes this.
  22. undefined666

    undefined666

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    fixed this by upgrading to win10 from win7.
    Installing latest windows updates also may fix the issue.
     
  23. amir0345

    amir0345

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    same problem on window 7
     
    Harinezumi likes this.
  24. Harinezumi

    Harinezumi

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Posts:
    46
    Sorry, but that is not a solution. Windows 7 is officially still supported by Unity, so there should be no errors.

    Any other way to solve this issue?
     
  25. hitechnt

    hitechnt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you! This working!
     
  26. TitanX603

    TitanX603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thank its work
     
  27. undefined666

    undefined666

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    Yes I know.For some reason my Win7 was unable to update and the were about 200+ windows updates to be installed.Some of these updates I believe were .Net-related.
    So the solution may be "check you have all OS updates installed"
     
  28. roroco

    roroco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    see https://forum.unity.com/threads/unity-on-linux-release-notes-and-known-issues.350256/
    I fix this bug with above link > "Dependencies and Recommended Packages", install all dependencies
    this is my ruby script:
    ```
    deps = %w(gconf-service lib32gcc1 lib32stdc++6 libasound2 libc6 libc6-i386 libcairo2 libcap2 libcups2 libdbus-1-3 libexpat1 libfontconfig1 libfreetype6 libgcc1 libgconf-2-4 libgdk-pixbuf2.0-0 libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1 libglib2.0-0 libglu1-mesa libglu1 libgtk2.0-0 libnspr4 libnss3 libpango1.0-0 libstdc++6 libx11-6 libxcomposite1 libxcursor1 libxdamage1 libxext6 libxfixes3 libxi6 libxrandr2 libxrender1 libxtst6 zlib1g debconf npm)

    system %Q(sudo apt install #{deps.join(" ")} -y)
    ```
     
  29. Armynator

    Armynator

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    I had the same problem with 5 completely blank errors in the console on Kubuntu 19.04. I could find the actual errors in the Editor.log file, indicating that libssl was missing. So I installed libssl1.0.0 manually and all errors were gone.

    So if you are having such issues as well... try checking out the Editor.log file. It probably tells you what's wrong :)
     
  30. denis-andreevich

    denis-andreevich

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    I confirm the existence of the problem. Works in Ubuntu 18.04 not working in Ubuntu 19.04. Displays 5 empty fields with errors when creating or opening a previous project.
     
  31. ETPOF

    ETPOF

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Also experiencing this error in 16.04 (will be upgrading soon) on a new project. I have all the dependencies for Unity and MonoDevelop. When I change ScriptingRuntimeVersion to NET 3.5, I get about 60 new errors all along the lines of:

    New Unity Project/Library/PackageCache/com.unity.textmeshpro@2.0.0/Scripts/Runtime/TMPro_UGUI_
    Private.cs(1089,59): error CS1644: Feature `out variable declaration' cannot be used because it
    is not part of the C# 4.0 language specification


    So I'm sort of stuck since I can't use 3.5 or 4.x.
     
  32. mosaic_school

    mosaic_school

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    73
    THX!

    Had the same problem on a fresh Ubuntu 19.04 install. It worked perfectly on another machine which was upgraded to 19.04 and had libssl-1.0 still installed. As a workaround installing the 18.10 / cosmic package works ( https://packages.ubuntu.com/cosmic-updates/amd64/libssl1.0.0/download ) but Unity needs to fix it eventually.

    P.S. the issue only seems to be present in 2019.1 and 2019.2. 2018.4 worked fine without the fix.
     
  33. ETPOF

    ETPOF

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Turns out I also had the same issue with different libraries. After upgrading to 18.04 earlier, I ran Unity and checked my Editor.log (thanks for the reminder lol). Apparently, libunwind.so.8 was missing so I ran
    sudo apt-get install -y libunwind-dev
    and that fixed it!
     
  34. mythical_downs

    mythical_downs

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    It looks like this has been fixed in 2019.3: https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/issues/linux-roslyn-fails-if-there-is-a-newer-libssl-than-1-dot-0. It's due to Ubuntu 19.04 coming with a version of libssl that Roslyn can't detect. Installing libssl-1.0 from cosmic-updates (alongside 1.1) as mentioned above is a valid workaround until you can upgrade.
     
    PixelJ and Eyap like this.
  35. AlfieBooth

    AlfieBooth

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    12
  36. Helious73

    Helious73

    Joined:
    May 4, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    not working for me:(