Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
Unity's version control component has been upgraded to Plastic SCM.

Efficient Collaborate Workflow

Discussion in 'Unity Collaborate' started by gonzo_cgcookie, Sep 1, 2016.

1. gonzo_cgcookie

gonzo_cgcookie

Hello,

I am a developer with a small team developing a game. Currently there are three of us involved within Unity to add art assets and in general test things out. I've personally used Collaborate alone for a while, but we're having issues using it as a team and wanted to know if we are using it improperly or if Collaborate is just having issues.

Some of the issues we've had include having "conflicts" with files. Typically one person was working on a scene and another as well and during the process we are prompted to make updates to our local project. When doing so we get a number of conflicts with files. I assume this is because similar files are being edited. Is there a way to notify other team members when a file is being modified in the project?

On a similar note is there a way to resolve these conflicts in a much quicker manner? In one instance there were 400 changes made which seemed a bit ridiculous and I had to manually try to "use theirs". It would be great to have a quick selection check box that allowed me to single out specific changes to be used as my version or theirs.

I eventually had an issue where I couldn't update a "meta" file for one the the FBX files that was clearly in my project. Does Collaborate have issues adding in assets/files that were previously deleted?

I ended up rebuilding the project by signing into Unity and downloading the latest version from the cloud which meant I lost a few things I was working on previously since I couldn't update or upload my version.

2. quixotic

quixotic

Administrator

What kind of conflicts do you run into?