Search Unity

Efficient City Building using Prefabs

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Chronobane, Dec 14, 2018.

1. Chronobane

Chronobane

Hello,
    I am quite new to Unity and try to optimize my efficiency using prefabs and nesting those.

As example: I create a street_lamp prefab where as this contains two lights and a street lamp model.
    This prefab I use in my street_segment prefab which I use multiple in the street prefab.
    Imagine a whole city with dozens of light elements with dozens of streets.

How would I efficiently build up a system to change the intensity of one light whenever the whole city is build (via script and via editor)?
    I try to be as dynamic as possible regarding changes applied in the end, so it would be nice if you could give me some advice to achieve something like the given example.

Thanks for your help.

2. Ambrose998800

Ambrose998800

I'm on the same thing (but a beginner too) - I would say you make a prefab of you streetlamp (Model + Lightsources + Controlscript) and then you place empties on every point at the street prefab (I guess you put them up by prefabs too) you want to assign a street lamp. Then you make a script to that empty (they can share all the same script) that instantiates the prefab of the streetlamp at that position (makes a clone of the streetlamp). Now you can acess every clone of the streetlamp seperatly. Plus, you could set up multiple prefabs of streetlamps (one without problems, one that tilts, on that flickers, one that is dead) and then you can assign them with a random variable automatically - for more variations through the streets.

Would basicly look like that:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void PlaceLamp()
    2.     {
    3.         GameObject Newlamp = Instantiate(streetlamp); //streetlamp is the template prefab
    5.         Newlamp.transform.SetParent(street.transform); //Assign the lamp to the street in hierarchy