Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Educational version of Maya?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by N00B, Mar 19, 2006.

1. N00B

N00B

I'm just getting started with Unity and I'm looking around to find something that I can use for modeling and animating for a FPS typs game. Are there any limitations in using the Maya purchased through the educational licence (not the PLE version)?

The educational price of Maya is less than Cinema 4d and seems to have better support in Unity. Is there any drawback to this?

I qualify for the educational version and since it will be a while before I actually produce anything other than a demo I'm probably within the license, I'm just wondering if there are any technical limitations to it.

2. antenna-tree

antenna-tree

The EDU license should be equal to the "real" version in every way. You might want to read the license thoroughly to discern whether you can distribute games for sale using content created with this EDU license... but I wouldn't worry about it too much for now.

3. Sync1B

Sync1B

FYI, every one else looking at the PLE version stay away! I got very screwed by modeling a very big space station in that assuming PLE's would open in maya. I had ordered maya and it was taking a while due to some problems... Any way I tried (meaning jeff) to open my PLE document in regular maya. I was very suprised/pissed off and wanting to kill some one, to find that it wouldnt. So after some charming* emails to autodesk and a few days later im still stuck with a sweet model thats completely worthless. I hope you all can learn from my mistake.

No there are not any limitations but like antenna said read the agreement and enjoy maya, it's real nice. :D

Bill

4. greenland

greenland