Search Unity

Educational game

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CosmicKitty, Feb 19, 2016.

1. CosmicKitty

CosmicKitty

I'd love some input thinking through an idea. I have a 1st grade child and he's been having issues with spelling and he hates doing spelling homework... I thought to make a simple-ish game that you could input his vocabulary words into.

I don't want to do anything crazy involved... I'm an artist not a coder :/ but I'm working on learning and this would be a project I could really get behind.

I was thinking maybe incorporating a puzzle platformer or something? But I'm not sure how the two ideas would go together... or at least how to code it... or maybe something even more simple, like a hangman type game? maybe a mix of the two... maybe a standard platformer but instead of boss battles there would be an educational minigame of some sort?

anyway I'd love some ideas and any suggestions on what type of scripts would be needed to input the words and check the spelling :/

Teila likes this.
  2. Schneider21

Schneider21

At my previous job, we did a lot of educational content. Most were straight up quizes, but for games, we had a standard sort of template of simple game types including platforming, moving a character to catch falling objects, sliding a character around to avoid objects on a path, etc.

In between sections, the student would be presented with a question. If they got it right, they progressed to the next level. If they got it wrong, they got another question and the incorrectly answered one would go back into the mix of questions to be asked. This way they had to answer all of the questions to finish the game.

I only ever wrote code and sent it off to the client to publish, so I don't know what the feedback was on whether the kids enjoyed the games or not.

3. Fuzzy

Fuzzy

I've got kind of mixed feeling about this thread.