Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are looking for feedback on the experimental Unity Safe Mode which is aiming to help you resolve compilation errors faster during project startup.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Editor keeps reimporting assets without changes

Discussion in '2019.3 Beta' started by jrzancan, Jan 2, 2020.

  1. jrzancan

    jrzancan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I'm posting this here to see if anyone has the same problem, since I've already sent a bug report.

    When I make a change on a script, after saving, the Editor insists in reimporting all the Sprites assets. Even if I didn't touch the Sprites folder or anything like that.

    Sometimes even after saving the script and reimporting, the Editor reimports all over again when I click to run the project.

    I've already force the "Reimport All", cleared the cache and so on, Editor is still reimporting.

    I'm using the Collab, on Unity 2019.3.0f1.

    There's a log or something that I can look to find out why is the Editor judging necessary to reimport this assets?

    Thank you.

    Edit: I'm using Kaspersky as the antivirus, already tried to pause the file checks, but this problem still happens.

    Edit 2: Case 1208671
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2020
    ZenUnity likes this.
  2. NotEvenTrying

    NotEvenTrying

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    Just upgraded to 2019.3.0f5 today, also having a similar issue - it tries to reimport all my sprites (albeit only in the Resources folder as far as I can tell) every time I compile scripts, enter playmode, or even change some editor settings, like the font. I couldn't reproduce it in a new project, however :\

    Didn't have this problem in earlier versions of Unity

    Update: I noticed its only reimporting the sprites I use for Anima2d's meshes, so I'm assuming the bug is to do with Anima2d for the time being
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
  3. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    If you're able to reproduce this, a bug report with a reproduction project would be much appreciated.
     
  4. YKpro

    YKpro

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    upgrade from 2019.2.16f1 to 2019.3.0f5;
    It keeps importing my psd files everytime I hit play in editor;
    really really anoying......
    I am using 2d sprite animation;

    // update:
    problem fixed by updating my anima2D to new version;
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020
  5. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,992
    Please submit a bug-report as described in this document:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    It's important that you report these issues together with a reproduction project if you want them to get fixed. If you don't do it, it might be a long time until someone else reports them or until Unity Technologies find them.

    After you submitted the bug-report, you receive a confirmation email with a bug-report Case number. Please post the Case number (number only, not the link) in this forum thread for Unity staff to pick up.
     
  6. YKpro

    YKpro

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    thanks, i found the problem;
    it's because i used older version of anima2d, I updated my anima2d, the problem gone;
    thanks any way!
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  7. NotEvenTrying

    NotEvenTrying

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    In my case Anima2d already was at the latest version, deleting it fixed the issue, but reimporting it brought it up again; I tried reproducing this in a new project so I could send a bug report with a example project, but wasn't able to repro it in a new project :( using Unity 2019.3.0f5 as well.
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  8. alexishcf

    alexishcf

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    Not using Anima2D but I have the same issue
     
    CoCoNutti likes this.
  9. HuldaGnodima

    HuldaGnodima

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Posts:
    29
    I have the same issue as you. I have an up to date Anima2D and it keeps reimporting assets related to Anima2D when I change a script or test the game. Makes testing much more time-consuming. Has anyone figured out how to fix this?
     
  10. NickZangus

    NickZangus

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Hi! I've resolved by changing the Asset Pipeline Mode to Version 1 in the editor project settings (using Unity 2019.3.0f6)

    upload_2020-2-1_11-15-44.png
     
  11. HuldaGnodima

    HuldaGnodima

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Posts:
    29
    Thank you so much for sharing your solution! This fixed it for me.
     
  12. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,992
    Considering version 1 is marked as deprecated already, thus being removed eventually, I'm not sure that using v1 is a long-term solution to the problem. ;)
     
    HuldaGnodima likes this.
  13. arkogelul

    arkogelul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    104
    The tilemap system heavily relies on version 1 as well. On 2019.3 it's barely impossible to paint tiles in a prefab when version 2 is activated. It's worrying since 2019.3 is the best they could come up with so far and it really looks like some kind of tinkering (at least for the tilemap system).

    Using version 1 was the "official" solution we sere given to "solve" our tilemap painting problem.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2020
  14. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    215
    In Unity speak, "deprecated" often means "stable".
     
  15. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    The team was able to reproduce this. I've reached out to them for a follow up statement.
     
    CoCoNutti and Peter77 like this.
  16. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
  17. diliupg

    diliupg

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Posts:
    25
    I too am experiencing the same happening.
     
  18. nosajtevol

    nosajtevol

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Experiencing the same. Thanks for fixing the bug!
     
  19. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    This should be fixed in 2019.3.4f1.
     
  20. soorya696

    soorya696

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Posts:
    70
    I'm using unity 2019.3.5 still this issue exists. This issue is heavily affecting my productivity.
     
  21. soorya696

    soorya696

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Posts:
    70
  22. TheSixthHammer

    TheSixthHammer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Hi I am using Unity 2019.3.6f1 with the latest version of Anima2D (and have migrated an old project from Unity 2017.3). The problem on my end is that Unity keeps reimporting almost all meshes upon each Play of the game, regardless of changes being made.


    I tracked the problem down to Anima2D/Scripts/Editor/SpriteMeshPostprocessor::Initialize()
    In this method there is a check if it should reimport all the sprite meshes, which is apparently true for 2/3 of my meshes always.
    Furthermore, the function SpriteMeshUtils.NeedsOverride returns true for 2/3 of my meshes everytime I hit the Play button (without making any change). I executed this:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Debug.Log(triangles.Length +"         #         "+ spriteMeshData.indices.Length);
    And indeed the values are different.

    Since I don't know the internal workings of the system, for now I proceeded commenting out the check (Lines 67-71 in SpriteMeshPostprocessor). This fixes the constant reimporting bug (I suppose it also brakes the detection if the mesh has changed, but for now I will have to do manual reimport everytime I change meshes)

    I would be grateful if author can join and propose a solution for this!
     
    sanketprabhu, EGunity011 and diliupg like this.
  23. LittleBlueDot

    LittleBlueDot

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    No it wasn't, I'm on 2019.3.6f1. This is is ridiculous, wasting literally hours a day on this now.
     
    sanketprabhu likes this.
  24. diliupg

    diliupg

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Posts:
    25
    This

    is a valid and great reply!
     
  25. Develax

    Develax

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    I don't think that commenting those lines is a good idea - it could break some of their logic.
    I've fixed reimporting on each Play in the editor by checking if it's playing in the SpriteMeshPostprocessor class in the same method:

    upload_2020-5-12_1-4-13.png

    now it is still reimporting when some code in the project is changed and saved but it is not on each Play anymore and their logic is not broken.
     
  26. sanketprabhu

    sanketprabhu

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    The issue still exists in Unity Version 2019.3.13f1. Editor reimport the assets with every action in project like Save, Delete, Manage Package etc
     
  27. sanketprabhu

    sanketprabhu

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Temporary solution:
    Screenshot 2020-05-17 at 5.40.50 PM.png I am using PRO version of unity, and it's affecting worst. The unity team mentioned the issue was already fixed. Not expecting such a careless behavior from Unity QA. @LeonhardP when it's going to fix really?
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2020
    stefanratea97 likes this.
  28. Lostrick

    Lostrick

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    28
    Unity Version 2019.3.13f1 here, latest anima2D
    still same issue, reimporting every time I play, and also broke the meshes textures in anima 2D
    I think I'm gonna downgrade back to 2018
     
    f1chris and sanketprabhu like this.
  29. rmon222

    rmon222

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Posts:
    67
    @sanketprabhu I'm using Unity Plus, not Pro. I can't find SpriteMeshPostProcessor.cs. Is it only in Pro version?

    Edit: nevermind. This looks like it's Anima2D specific.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020
    sanketprabhu likes this.
  30. moosefreak

    moosefreak

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    same issue here with 2019.4.0f1 version of unity and latest version of Anima2D 1.1.8. Any actual fixes or patches coming? Anima hasn't been updated in about a year.
     
  31. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,992
    Unity staff said they fixed the original issue mentioned in this thread.

    If you still run into the same issue with the latest Unity version (2019.4, 2020.x) please submit a bug-report as described in this document: https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    It's important that you report these issues together with a reproduction project if you want them to get fixed. If you don't do it, it might be a long time until someone else reports them or until Unity Technologies find them.

    Adding "not fixed" to this thread will not make the problem go away :)

    After you submitted the bug-report, you receive a confirmation email with a bug-report Case number. Please post the Case number (number only, not the link) in this forum thread for Unity staff to pick up.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2020
  32. meaf75

    meaf75

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Not fixed, im running Unity 2019.4.2f1
     
    doneykoo likes this.
  33. haga_unity

    haga_unity

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Not fixed. currently running 2019.4.4f1 - we don't use anima2d
     
  34. mrcraigoman

    mrcraigoman

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    we are having the same problem on 2019.4.4 - We don't use Anima2D and we don't have any issues with our sprites
     
unityunity