Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Editor Freeze - Cause [Package Manager]

Discussion in '2019.1 Beta' started by Grimreaper358, Feb 7, 2019.

  1. Grimreaper358

    Grimreaper358

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    404
    At first, I couldn't find what the cause was but now I know it's the Package Manager. I had an editor layout saved that had the Package Manager as a tab and whenever I open the editor it just froze.

    After opening/upgrading another project from the alpha version that didn't have the package manager window open/docked it ran fine, but as soon as I opened the package Manager it froze. I opened the project multiple times and each time I open the Package Manager (or had it docked somewhere in the layout) it would freeze so I'm pretty sure it's the Package Manager.

    This happened as well in the alpha but I couldn't figure out the caused then. I could use the package manager in the alpha fine for some projects while others would freeze as soon as I opened them. So I didn't know this would be the cause at the time. In 2019.1 b1 every project I upgrade and open the Package Manager (or had it open and docked before upgrading) freezes the editor. New projects created in 2019.1 b1 don't have this problem. I can open the Package Manager fine as well as dock it and after reopening the editor it doesn't freeze.

    The editor only froze if I had a layout (made in 2018.3) with the Project Settings and or Preferences tabs docked in the layout and update. ( It only froze when I switched to those tabs though) So I had to delete the library and open the project again and switched to factory defaults (For the Layout) when the dialog option appears while the project is reopening. If I didn't switch to those tabs, everything worked fine. After upgrading other projects I just had to right click and close those tabs (not selecting/switching) then reopen them and they worked fine.

    Case number - 1124696

    I dont have this problem in 2019.2 a4 so far. I checked with a few projects that followed this update chain
    2018.3 -> 2019.1 b1 -> 2019.1 b2 -> 2019.2 a4.
    The issue only occurs in both 2019.1 versions.
     
    hippocoder, Djayp and LeonhardP like this.
  2. eizenhorn

    eizenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Posts:
    852
    +1 same issue with 2019 beta
     
  3. pedro_unity

    pedro_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    153
    Thank you for reporting @Grimreaper358,

    Can you post the contents of your project "manifest,json" file in this thread? Unity stores each project manifest in the [your_project_root_folder]/Packages/manifest.json file.

    Thanks kindly,
    Pedro
    Unity STE
     
  4. Grimreaper358

    Grimreaper358

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    404
    @pedro_unity When you asked for the manifest file I remembered that I have the staging registry in pretty much all of my older projects except the new ones I created. Went in a removed the staging registry from an older project's manifest, load it up, and the package manager doesn't freeze the editor anymore. Checked with a few more projects and it still didn't freeze. I still included the manifest file but that seemed to be the problem. Totally forgot about that.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pedro_unity

    pedro_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    153
    Thanks @Grimreaper358,

    Great, that's what I thought. We have discovered this issue internally and are currently verifying the fix. We will make it available as soon as possible.

    Cheers,
    Pedro
    Unity STE
     
    Rallix and Grimreaper358 like this.
  6. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    24,457
    Thanks - will remove staging for now.