Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Editor Compile in Background?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by larryPlayablStudios, Feb 11, 2019.

  1. larryPlayablStudios

    larryPlayablStudios

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Is there any way to have the editor recompile the project in the background on file change in an external IDE?

    Currently, I have to focus on the editor to kick off a recompilation.

    This would really help coding workflow.
     
  2. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    3,409
  3. larryPlayablStudios

    larryPlayablStudios

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Interesting, you're saying that I can access the running editor instance via command line and trigger an editor recompile? I don't want to do a full build. I just want to code in my external IDE and then have the editor already building or ideally ready to run when I tab back over to it.
     
  4. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    3,604
    Rider/Resharper's Unity plugin has a toggle for "automatically refresh assets in Unity", which does what you're asking. Maybe VS' plugin has something similar?
     
  5. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    3,409
    No, I was referring to a command line build.
     
  6. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    4,943
  7. larryPlayablStudios

    larryPlayablStudios

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Yeah, I'd noticed that as well. Looks like it launches a monitoring program that polls for file metadata updates (e.g. time updated) and then kicks off an asset refresh. Seems like a reasonable approach. I was just a bit nervous about running a pretty unknown quantity like this. I'm also on osx for now, and it utilizes an exe for the monitoring program. Could potentially be rebuilt for osx.

    Maybe I'll roll my own that uses an explicit system event sent from Visual Studio vs polling for file changes if I get around to it.