Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Unity 2022.2 is now available as the latest Tech release.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We are making some changes to the DOTS forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Editor Bug? Undocked/floating windows disappear (making them basically unusable)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by mindlube, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Working with 1 display in Unity3 on Mac: Tear off the Game view, or do Window > Animation to get a floating window. then click on the Scene view or the inspector, then you lose all your foreground tool windows.

    This is really frustrating way to work on one large display. Particularly when you want to have the Game window float, and also be able to tweak the inspector while playing.

    Contrast this with how Maya 2011 works. If you tear off any menu, or pick anything from the Window menu, then it stays in front of the main window.

    At least there are keyboard shortcuts for everything in the Window menu.

    I thought about filing a bug report or feature request on this, but thought I would see what other people working on a single display think. I can see how it would be a non-issue on multiple displays, perhaps.

    Overall , love the Unity editor gui.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2010
  2. KyleStaves

    KyleStaves

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    821
    I noticed the same thing when working with the profiler. My specific issue was that when I tried to click the drag-area of the profiler window (in a torn off floating window) it would click-through to the scene and pause my game/hide my profiler window.
     
  3. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,325
    This is by design. I would prefer for them to float as well, but I couldn't talk anyone else here into it. So yeah, I put those windows on a second monitor... for people with one monitor on OSX it might be annoying. I'll keep poking Nich about this every now and then, but he's pretty convinced that they shouldn't float on OSX (they do on PC).
     
  4. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,351
    Technically it's not a bug...there are two types of windows, those that are always on top and those that aren't. Making a custom wizard, for example, is always on top. I hadn't thought about whether non-always-on-top windows are a problem, since I use tabs for everything and don't have floating windows, which has been working well.

    You're on a Mac; there are keyboard shortcuts for every single menu item if desired. Go to the keyboard preferences and add/change anything you want.

    --Eric
     
  5. oblivionfeet

    oblivionfeet

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Posts:
    481
    Phew, I've been trying it out on the Mac and noticed this too, highly annoying, glad the PC one doesn't suffer from it too!
     
  6. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Thanks Ethan, please do keep prodding now and again. Maya 2011 on Mac is a good counterexample of how such windows should work . IMHO :)
    @Eric, yes, keyboard shortcuts or unfortunately yet just keeping all windows docked seems to be the only solution if you want to see the inspector and anything else at the same time.
     
  7. antenna-tree

    antenna-tree

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    5,325
    Maya, and other 3d apps on OSX, were my argument against this, but it didn't work... yet ;)
     
  8. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,351
    I'm having trouble coming up with any examples at all (3D or otherwise) of floating windows that don't stay on top, aside from Unity....

    --Eric
     
  9. JFo

    JFo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Posts:
    217
    lance nordeus likes this.
  10. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Ethan, at al:

    What's worse, Window > Bring all to Front has no effect on Mac anyways- don't have a Windows box to try it on. Ugh! Unity should just not allow tear-off panels if they are going to act all weird and disappear behind the main window.
    I filed a bug on this:
    Ticket# 381251_ghnnjdfv

    Thanks if you can bump this somehow, or maybe it will be fixed in 3.1 - that would be sweet.
     
  11. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    @Ethan,
    See (Case 381251) "Editor windows keep getting lost behind the main editor".
    Morten said he is closing the ticket because it's "by design". I am pleading with him not to close it, and that the design is broken. I asked him to contact you.

    @Juha, Thanks for the link to the Apple HIG docs, hopefully that will help.
     
  12. diese440

    diese440

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Posts:
    105
  13. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Cool, I just got word that case 381251 is resulting in a change of behavior for detachable editor panels! Thanks to Morten, Ethan everyone who helped on this one :)
     
  14. TwinFox

    TwinFox

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Am I missing something, or is this bug still not fixed after six months and two releases?
     
  15. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    9,644
    It's not a bug.
     
  16. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    It's a bug according to Apple's UI guidelines, plus common sense because it's annoying as hell. It's still not fixed. I'm going to add a note to case 381251 in case it got lost.
     
  17. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Seems like this one slipped through the cracks, because here is a response on the case
     
  18. TwinFox

    TwinFox

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Thanks for the update Alex. Let's hope the fix gets added into 3.4.
     
  19. Jessy

    Jessy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Posts:
    7,325
    Not having the windows float in front is a terrible idea. :( Unity is the only app where I need to constantly use command ~ or Exposé all the time, in order to find windows. What app is there where dockable windows move behind, like that? There's got to be some precedent.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2011
  20. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Jessy, thank you! I didnt know about Command ~ (actually Command ` ). That's great. I had given up on it because Window | Bring all to front is a noop on Unity on the Mac. But Command ` is just the trick.
     
  21. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    Dredging up an old thread, but: on OS X Lion with Unity 3.5 you can go full screen and voila- strangely enough, floating/detached editor windows *always stay on front* . Yay! A nice christmas present. Still reading through the release notes wow...
     
  22. TwinFox

    TwinFox

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Could we please get this one finally fixed. Unity 4 is still hiding floating panes behind the main window. And the full screen mode - although a nice addition - can't be said to be a real solution to this problem, it is merely a workaround.
     
  23. mindlube

    mindlube

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    993
    I agree by the way if anyone @ Unity wants to followup see fogbugz case 381251.

    edit: quick summary, this is supposedly working as designed on the Mac, and has been closed as "feature request".

    My suggestion for now is just get used to it, or use full-screen mode, which I find hard because of the horrible OS X sliding animation when you switch to another app from a fullscreen app. Or just use Mission Control (Ctrl-down arrow) or a keyboard shortcut.

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  24. numberkruncher

    numberkruncher

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    951
    I too think that this functionality should be consistent with Unity on Windows. It seems odd that the two behave differently and having the window continuously vanishing behind the scenes is very annoying.

    Thanks for the tip Jessy, very useful! But I still think that this behaviour should be changed.
     
  25. numberkruncher

    numberkruncher

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    951
  26. probbins

    probbins

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Posts:
    216

    It's a terrible design idea! Please slap him for me ;) (joking! - no physical violence please!)

    What on earth could be the reason for having them disappear? I would have thought it was a one sided argument, curious to hear the reasoning behind it.

    Anyway just wanted to add that I'm also finding windows unusable on Mac, which work perfectly on on windows. Also was also hoping for some work around, full screen mode is not a solution, anything in code that we could do?

    Thanks for this Jessy, going to come in handy!
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2013
  27. Termitoss

    Termitoss

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    AntFitch and zwcloud like this.
  28. Havokki

    Havokki

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Posts:
    116
    I'm necroing this thread just to say that this is still an issue. And it's not even an OSX issue, since I haven't noticed this with any other app.
     
  29. MiniBeatBoy

    MiniBeatBoy

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    I agree, it would be cool that someone at Unity took a look at this issue!! @support
     
  30. koikodo

    koikodo

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    This bug persists in Unity 2017.4 (final build prior to 2018). Any window that disappears off screen and cannot be located behind the main Unity window, or otherwise found, cannot be returned to the screen. You have to go into regedit (on Windows) and change the x and y values for the missing window to all 0s. Upon reloading the application, voila, your missing window will reappear in the upper left corner

    Even returning your Layout to factory settings or installing a new version of Unity won't solve the problem, you have to find the window in regedit and fix it. Gross and dangerous!
     
  31. Lyje

    Lyje

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Posts:
    167
    Still happening in 2018.3.0f2.
     
  32. BjoUnity3d

    BjoUnity3d

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Posts:
    54
    2020.3 LTS - What's the point of the new focused inspector windows if they instantly disappear behind the Unity editor as soon as you click anything. Opening multiple focused inspector windows is supposed to be useful but I just end up with tons of open panels hiding behind the UI. On Mac Big Sur btw.

    Edit: I see, you have to hit the little green system button on the top left of the Unity window to make it "Fullscreen". Then floating windows will stay on top of the editor. I don't really like fullscreen mode on Mac because the menu and taskbar is hidden until you mouse to the top/bottom edge of the screen but at least I know how to use floating panels.