Search Unity

ECS thinking

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Eldirfar, Oct 6, 2019.

1. Eldirfar

Eldirfar

Hello, Im currently starting new after work hours project and I wanted to use all Unity new features like DOTS, Input System etc. In work Im stuck with Unity 2017.4 for now :(
    I have basic knowledge about ECS. I watched some Unity streams, and was at Unite this year but have problems with more complex problems.

For eg case like this:
    We have ship with front cannon and rear 3 cannons on both sides. Other enemies like tank or tower also can have cannon. What guys you think would be the best approach in ECS?

Ok simple - I would make cannon an entity with position, rotation and cannon but there goes the harder part. What entity should store reference to cannons? Let's have ship entity that will store references to cannons (we can pass those reference during conversion from GO or should pass it later? How to store those references). Then how to tell them to shoot?
    Input -> Makes input entity
    InputSystem -> process input entities.
    And now I see few options.
    1. InputSystem spawns bullets from list of cannons form ship entity
    2. InputSystem tells Ship to shoot, then some ShipSystem process it. I can have later some tower which also have some cannon that can shoot. I think would be best to avoid entities like "ship", "tank", "tower" but then where to store list of cannons?

Many questions in such simple example. In GO way there would be just ship with oher GO ther represents cannons. I have hard time with thinking ECS way. Maybe any one have good article/book how to design things in ECS with good more complex examples?

2. brunocoimbra

brunocoimbra

I struggled with a similar problem when I began looking into ECS, hopefully the example below may help you to find a solution for your issue: