Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

ECS Solution for Artists

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by protopop, Oct 12, 2018.

1. protopop

protopop

I have a suggestion for using the scene tab with ECS.

Let us add entities, and maybe components and systems, to the scene view.

I mean, isn’t an entity really just a gameobject with all the extras like transforms removed?

I already use gameobjects with data only c# attached. I always wished I could just delete the transform but keep the object visually in the scene view, because I’m an artist and work well with this kind of visual. It would allow for ecs but not break the established paradigm many artists prefer. And it would use the easy for OO designers method of dragging reference to other scripts.

Instead of create new gameobject, it would be create new entity. And if you wanted to replicate the gameobject behaviour, you could just add a transform to it. Like a very a la carte gameobject creator.

Optionally, Components and systems could also have a visual representation in the scene view. And if they are singletons they could be restricted to one instance per scene, for visualization purposes.

laurentlavigne likes this.
  2. eizenhorn

eizenhorn

ECS on preview, all user friendly editor tools will be in future afaik.

MadeFromPolygons and protopop like this.
  3. protopop

protopop

I think it’s good for artists to start chiming in now. Many articles and posts about ECS don’t make much mention of how it will affect visual designers. We’re being exposed to the discussion without feeling like a part of it. And if there is zero discussion about visual tools while ECS is being implemented, that kind of infers that ECS’s data oriented design paradigm is inherently not visual friendly.