Search Unity

Question Ecosystem Simulation ML-Agent - beginner

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by ZRogers, Apr 22, 2021.

1. ZRogers

ZRogers

hi im new to ml agents (and ml in general) im trying to create a small ecosystem with some rabbits, foxes and carrots. the idea being that rabbits will explore the area looking for carrots, when the eat a carrot they will receive some energy and if they have enough energy and they see another rabbit they can mate all whilst avoiding the foxes and the player.

Environment:
    I have a plane with a navmesh baked (this is the method of movement i plan to use as i would like to implement it onto a terrain, ill cover this at the end as its less important). i have tried using walls and no walls, without walls the agents just walk towards the edge.

Observations:
    For each agent i am using the ray perception sensor 3d along with the local rotation, local position and energy. Tags - Fox, Carrot ( not for Fox), Rabbit, Wall.
    I originally added the observations as the whole float but i have since normalized them, for the rotation i devided the local rotation eulerAngles by 360, the local position i added as seperate floats using this formula- normalizedValue = (currentValue - minValue)/(maxValue - minValue) and finally i divided the energy by 100.

Actions: Nothing, Forward, Rotate Left and Right

Rewards:
    my original plan for rewards was -1 for hitting the wall, player, a Fox (for rabbits) and energy reaching 0. + 0.25 for a carrot and +1 for finding a mate. i also ran tests with a small reward for moving forward ( to reduce the amount of turning side to side) this was tested at no reward, 0.001 and 0.0001. i also tried a survival reward to help the agent survive till it ran out of energy however i found this to not be nessisary.

MaxSteps:

Episode ends: