Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

EBUSY: resource busy or locked

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by angel1st, Mar 12, 2020.

  1. angel1st

    angel1st

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2019
    Posts:
    35
    Hi there,
    I have just downloaded 2019.3.5f1 and I wanted to add Entities package to a new project. This is what I have got as an error message in Console:

    Cannot perform upm operation: EBUSY: resource busy or locked, open '-----\Library\PackageCache\.tmp6760amsihKOTPeMr\copy\Unity.Entities\ConverterVersionAttribute.cs' [NotFound]
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()
    Error adding package: com.unity.entities@0.6.0-preview.24.
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()

    Let me know how to fix it.
     
  2. supitaUnity

    supitaUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2019
    Posts:
    200
    Hello,

    Sorry to see that you are having this issue. Could you please include the editor logs. It could be some kind of permission issue on the folder. Maybe a super eager antivirus removing the files?

    If you try in other Unity versions do you have this problem?

    Cheers,

    Supi
     
  3. leCrazydude

    leCrazydude

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same issue recently. Simply go to the folder location specified, open the folder properties window and make sure to have Read Only unchecked so that Unity could have read/write access to that directory. Hope this helps!
     
    p13t3rm and Extelen1 like this.
  4. behemothdan

    behemothdan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Mine was due to having VS Code open for editing my scripts. Once I closed that, it solved my issue.
     
  5. nights007

    nights007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    Same issue, happens a LOT. And theres usually no way to move forward, you can try removing your library folder etc reimporting everything. Been seeing this for ages now! Unity need to actually solve these type of issues asap, essentially they brick the whole damn package manager, and in extension the whole engine.
     
    prakyath_unity likes this.
  6. Radivarig

    Radivarig

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Posts:
    38
    Closing VS Code worked for me
     
  7. KroNu5

    KroNu5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Me too.

    Thanks
     
  8. lucaswart207

    lucaswart207

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    i got this in console
    Error adding package: com.unity.ml-agents@1.0.5.
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()
     
  9. Galse22

    Galse22

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks, mate.
     
    sorcerersapprentice likes this.
  10. streetbranson3

    streetbranson3

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    this is the one. i love you
     
  11. AfsoonB

    AfsoonB

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Problem solved! Thanks!
     
    sorcerersapprentice likes this.
  12. thedrhax14

    thedrhax14

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    It fixes it, thanks
     
  13. ALGNam

    ALGNam

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    thank you
     
  14. mikeydowsett

    mikeydowsett

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    solved it. thanks
     
    ShakkDK and gabrieldaduya like this.
  15. falconfetus8

    falconfetus8

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Closing VSCode fixed this for me, too...and that disturbs me. Why is VSCode locking files that I'm not even opening?
     
    Gasimo likes this.
  16. cdibbs

    cdibbs

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Posts:
    13
    It seems to try to be smart behind the scenes to facilitate code completion, "go to definition," and other features. It probably has to open a lot of files to maintain that sort of context.
     
  17. mativallejos6

    mativallejos6

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Gracias my brother!!
     
  18. falcan

    falcan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    Worked for me too.
     
  19. darklordkrish

    darklordkrish

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Had the same issue.But once i close vscode and tried again,it worked
     
unityunity