Search Unity

Resolved Dynamic or kinematic rigidbody for 2D platformer character controller

Discussion in 'Physics' started by dev_34Disorder, Feb 14, 2021.

1. dev_34Disorder

dev_34Disorder

I'm making a 2D platformer where the player character is mostly moved by code, but also takes some of the rigidbody physics calculations into account. I recently started learning about kinematic rigidbodies and i read somwhere that character controllers should be set to kinematic, since they're controlled mostly by code.
    But that doesn't make sense to me.
    From what i understand, kinematic rigidbodies only collide with dynamic rigidbodies, which doesn't work too well for a player controller. I mean, what about the floor for example? I know that there's ways to work around this, like constantly setting the velocity of every platform to 0, but that doesn't seem like a very elegant solution.
    I've also read that kinematic rigidbodies should be moved using MovePosition as opposed to changing the velocity. But in my game, as i'd guess in many others, the player character is moved with acceleration, not with constant speed. I know that i could handle the acceleration myself, but again, is this all really the right way to do this?
    Either whoever said that player controllers should be kinematic was wrong or my understanding of kinematic rigidbodies is completely off the mark. Maybe both.

So in the end: 2D platformer character controller
    Should it be dynamic? Are there any drawbacks?
    Should it be kinematic? How do i handle collision and movement?
    Should i completely handle the physics myself? Is it really worth all the trouble writing collision detection, etc.?

Thanks

MushyAvocado likes this.
  2. lightbug14

lightbug14

You can also control a dynamic rigidbody with code, so like you said, that doesn't make any sense. It is understandable why someone would say something like that.